All Swords of Northshire Reviews

Hand Forged Red Folded Steel Custom Samurai Wakizashi Sword

Review:

I absolutely love this sword!! It turned out beautiful and is very well made. A great addition to my collection. Well balanced and fully sharpened great for practice or decoration.

Price: $249.99

Date Added: 10/31/2019

By: Terrence Schoelen

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I bought this custom wakizashi for my daughter, who recently started sword training in her dojo, and allowed her to make all of the decisions for every customizable option. It's great to have a high quality, functional sword that is also expressive of her personality. When I asked her for her opinion for this review, she commented that the wakizashi is sturdy, easy to use, and has a good grip. But in terms of looks (and it's a beautiful sword), she loves the kanji engraving, and the tigers look great! Service at Northshire is awesome: in the preliminary photos before delivery, the fuchi and kashira did not show their tigers, and when we inquired, they promptly provided new photos of the other side of the sword (to which my daughter responded "COOL!"). When she gets older and needs an upgrade to a katana, I'll definitely be coming back to Northshire to order.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 10/29/2019

By: Richard

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Black Blade Wakizashi Samurai Sword

Review:

This wakizashi is a great product. The tsuka is perfectly fitted, the ito is tight, the fuchi-kashira, tsuba, habaki and menuki are beautifully made and line up well with the ito. The engraving is crisp, the blackened surface is smooth, and the blade is generally well made. An issue is that initially, the edge of the sword was inconsistent; the edge closer to the tsuka was sharp, but gradually got worse towards the tip. In fact, there was no edge at the kissaki portion of the blade; it was a 1mm width unsharpened section. I have since sharpened it myself. The inconsistent edge could be better, but overall the sword is masterfully made.

Price: $163.99

Date Added: 10/29/2019

By: Huery

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

When I first ordered the sword, all of my friends thought it was a dumb thing to buy such a "useless" product. I kept on telling them of all the fun that I, or even, we could have but they didn't budge on their stance. Then, when the sword finally arrived (very fast shipping btw), every one of my friends were amazed by its beauty. All they, and my self included, wanted to do was to play with it hahaha. The sword in person captivated everyone. The fact that you could see the individual folds in the steel (an option I knew I had to have) in such detail awed all of us. The attention to detail and the craftsmanship was next to none. As I was customizing the sword, I had extremely high hopes for it. The sheer amount of different things I could customize excited me more and more as I got closer and closer to the checkout screen. When the sword arrived, it blew every single one of my expectations that I had for it, out of the water. Very happy with how it turned out.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 10/28/2019

By: Ishan Kumar

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Superb, just superb. My first was for me. My second was for my best man’s 50th. I can easily see my third in my future. Don’t hesitate. If you want a sword, this is THE place to order it from.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 10/28/2019

By: Roger

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Damascus Steel Full Tang Blade Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

Quality piece for a good price I’ll definitely be buying another piece in the future.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 10/28/2019

By: Chris

View Product Details
Dark Souls Uchigatana Hand Forged Folded Blade Samurai Sword Katana Video Game Replica

Review:

Very pleased with this sword. They made sure the fittings were tight, the engraving was perfect, and the sword is sharp. The packaging is kinda crazy with how hard it is to open, but this is just me being nitpicky. Really, this is a great company, very excellent customer service, who offer quality swords at a fair price. Happy as always, as this is not my first order :)

Price: $274.99

Date Added: 10/26/2019

By: Chris

View Product Details
The Walking Dead Hand Forged Red Folded Steel Sharp Michonne Katana

Review:

Exceedingly pleased with this fine Katana. Craftsmanship and materials are excellent, eg, both sides of the strap are finished, leather is wide and supple. Used mostly as a movie prop, the sword is proudly displayed in the lobby of our home theater. Product and service are highly recommended!

Price: $369.99

Date Added: 10/22/2019

By: Fred

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Steel Blade Samurai Sword Golden Crane Katana

Review:

This was my first time purchasing a katana & I am honestly shocked at the amazing quality! I am extremely happy with my purchase & the price, customer service, & shipping time were all perfect. It is such a beautiful blade & look forward to ordering more in the future!

Price: $219.99

Date Added: 10/14/2019

By: Farhan

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

So i'll just cut(haha) to the chase. This sword is freaking awesome. I've used the blade i got twice so far for Tameshigiri, and have been satisfied with the results of what I've gotten. Secondly the team was very helpful as i wanted to get a tassel added to my hilt, and it looks so nice. The only other accesory i wasnt able to get was having beads wrapped around the blade resembling Miyamoto Musashi from Samurai Warriors( it'd make the blade not all to functional. One day though XD). All in all though i would recommend these guys. Also PS shout out to Skallagrim i wouldn't have found these guys if he hadn't reviewed a sword by them.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 10/11/2019

By: Armaun

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I can't remember if I did a review already. But I just got done doing a 3 part review for my outrageous SON custom katana. It's basically a nodachi with a katana handle. Everything came as expected, packaging was extremely well done. One of the best parts, outside the sword itself, was dealing with Bryce. He went above and beyond to make sure I was getting exactly what I wanted, and was willing to go out of his way to check with me about progress. I have complete faith in SON, and I hope you are willing to give them a try! My blade has a 41.5 inch nagasa and 12 inch handle, about. It's stupid large, but they really hit the mark with this one. I can't believe they did such a good job on a sword that just seems insane! But they did it! 5 stars!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/22/2019

By: Big Steve

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

This has been the best sword I've ever had. Everything was tight and handled great. The blade didnt dull even after I accidentally hit a wooden railing. The negative I have is the saya was a little bit too tight but after more use I'm sure itll be fine

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/18/2019

By: Steven Ven

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

As an admitted non-expert in Katanas and beginner in Iaido, I find this katana to be beautiful (it is a practice blade.) It is a work of art even if I never use it! The whole experience of building your own Katana and interacting with staff was an example of excellent customer service. The fact that they provide the service of making your own is a gift. The process makes you think about who you are and what does each piece mean to you. The Katana is an extension of you. You learn about each piece of the sword as you go through the building process. It took me weeks before I was comfortable with the combinations. Even after ordering it, I needed to make one change; they were very accommodating. I look forward to the day when I am experienced enough to get my next one with a live blade; I’ll be back here.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/17/2019

By: Laura

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

1095 folded, clay tempered katana pros: appearance, quality, feel/balance, price, does not rattle in saya cons: blade sharpness is not consistent from yokote to hamachi. overall: Still give it 5 stars. I plan to buy another one or two..

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/04/2019

By: Timothy

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Fantastic sword, delivered quickly and professionally, exactly as I ordered it. Such a beautiful blade, and it feels nice and well-balanced in hand as well. I can't wait to try it out on some tatami mats! Thanks to the smiths and also thanks to Bryce for the top notch customer service! Cheers!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/02/2019

By: Julien Renaud

View Product Details
Hand Forged Ninjato Black Folded Steel Blade Ninja Chokuto Sword with Blow Darts

Review:

Beautiful Sword! Excellent Customer Service with good communication and photos. Worth every penny!

Price: $264.99

Date Added: 09/02/2019

By: Jenta

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I can't believe what these guys did for me. I made blades back in the day, so I know more than a thing or two. 1.Customer Service is best I ever got 2.They have more options and will work with you to get the perfect blade for you 3. I asked for a katana with a 41ish nagasa, and a 12 inch handle. I have NO idea how this huge beast has such good balance, but it's on another level! 4. The packaging is over the top awesome. This thing could float at sea and probably be fine in 1k years! 5. I can't even explain how good it looks in person. I'll probably take some white to the wheel and sharpen it a little, get a TEENY bit more shine. But it is a definite mirror polish. I just personally take blades sharper(Maybe oversharp, but since I can fix in shop after every use, it's never been an issue) With a 41 inch nagasa I can't IMAGINE they were pleased to polish and sharpen it, so I don't hold the dulling against them. It didn't do tell with the paper test, but after I make my part 2 video(I'm injured or else it would be done), I will show you what a true Swords of Northshire is capable of! The Ito is SO tight I can't move it, NO wobbles, doesn't fall out of sheath at ALL. Very tight! If somebody asked this of me, I would of charged them 2k probably. For real. This is a good deal, I was co-owner of Spokane Forge! I know a nice blade when I see one! The fittings are all secured. The only thing I have yet to do is a cut test, which I plan on doing in a few days! For part one of the unboxing, check it out here! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=74e21Nq-vOU&t

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/01/2019

By: Stephen Leroy Layton

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Steel Blade Samurai Sword Golden Crane Katana

Review:

The katana is of great quality overall and I like it very much. The blade has pretty patterns of folded steel and upon close inspection there is no scratches. The katana is well balanced as described, with the center of mass being 5 inches on the blade from the guard. I use the sword to practice Iaido for half an hour every day. There was not cutting objects involved. While I can't say much about the durability of the blade, the handle wrapping certainly holds up and is still tight as new. There are a few places for improvement. The very tip of the blade seems a tiny bit unsymmetrical along the ridge of the backside of the blade (see the red circle in the first image). The scabbard is a little loose. Sometimes when carrying the sword with the handle tilting slightly downward can cause the sword to slide out. Lastly, the guard is a little sloppy. It is understood that at this price range, certain limitations on the quality cannot be avoided. But on the guard where it was supposed to be hollow was molded together, which undermined the "crane flying in the clouds" pattern. It only took me two minutes to knock out the redundant part and make it right (see the second image that shows the smaller hollow part that was originally molded together). A little care on the guard would make this katana more exquisite.

Price: $219.99

Date Added: 08/31/2019

By: Yue

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Bat Tsuba Martial Arts Iaito Katana

Review:

This is the second sword I've ordered here and it won't be the last. Great quality, especially for the price and it has served me well in my martial arts training and competitions

Price: $169.99

Date Added: 08/31/2019

By: Connor

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

All I can say is wow!!! I own 23 katanas, and my Northshire custom katana instantly became my favorite!! From the look of the sword to how it feels in my hand, its everything I hoped for!!! They were so receptive to what I wanted, and believe me I sent many many emails.. They were always polite, and always responded very quickly!! The customer service was exceptional!!! Back to the sword itself. Its beautiful, and perfectly balanced!! It feels so connected to my hand!! The balance is so good it feels almost like I'm holding nothing in my hand, but in actual weight it's right in the middle of all the swords I own.. I own swords from all the well known major companies, and this sword hands down beats them all!!!! I have already ordered another, and will order more in the future!!! I obviously definitely recommend to any true katana lover to give them a try!!!! You wont regret it!!!!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/31/2019

By: Jack Cantrel

View Product Details

    

At Swords of Northshire, we pride ourselves in our quality work. If for any reason you aren't happy with your purchase, we will make it right! We guarantee you'll love your sword or your money back