All Swords of Northshire Reviews

1095 High Carbon Steel Clay Tempered Katana with Hand Carved Saya

Review:

I received this sword for my birthday...ITS AMAZING!!! Wow so nicely made..very strong...I chopped every piece of fruit I could find and the blade held up with no issues. And the sword cut like butter...thanks for a great sword at a great price

Price: $469.99

Date Added: 05/26/2018

By: Lance

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Damascus Steel Clay Tempered Dragon Carving Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

My handmade Katana is beautiful. The weight is perfect and the craftsmanship is wonderful. A good investment I would highly recommend.

Price: $396.99

Date Added: 05/25/2018

By: Bernadine Maier

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Very happy with my first purchase with Swords of Northshire. Bryce Ronquille was very helpful and transparent on my order. He even added the Dragon to my sword since I didn't know how to add my name and symbol at the same time. My sword was made custom do it took awhile to receive, but Bryce kept me updated and even sent me pictures of it before he shipped it out! Excellent quality sword and customer service, I recommend.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/25/2018

By: Mattice Simmons

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Skyrim Blades Sword Dragon & Snake Martial Arts Iaito Katana

Review:

I wanted to order a well made, katana for my son's 18th birthday / graduation for a reasonable price. I have previously ordered a custom katana, tanto, and iaito through SON, and all of those blades I have purchased thus far were absolutely stunning and excellent quality. So I decided to order my son's katana through SON. SON did not disappoint. I ordered the 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Dragon & Snake Martial Arts Iaito Katana, and the beautiful thing is for a "production" non-custom sword, you still have the ability to do a great deal of customization! My son's favorite colors are blue, red and black... I was able to order the katana with a blue silk tsuka ito, blue sageo, black same, and red carved saya (ordered separately in "sword accessories" for only $25 extra). It also comes in a Dragon theme which is perfect because he was born in 2000, the Year of the Golden Dragon (on Chinese Calendar). I chose to have the blade sharpened so that he could eventually practice some light tameshigiri. Finally I had his name engraved (for free) in Japanese Kanji on the blade. Bryce was awesome through the whole process and answered all my questions quickly. I received the sword a little over two weeks after ordering (shipped directly from the forge in China not bad!!) The sword was PERFECT. The ito wrap was tight and precise, no gaps or looseness. The fittings (tsuba, fuchi-kashira, menuki) were all well made, artful sturdy. The blade had a very nice polish, and was free of any defects or flaws, the bohi was well grooved and even, and the cutting edge was very sharp out of the box. As others have mentioned in the reviews, you CANNOT beat the quality, craftsmanship, and customization for the price point. I am still blown away by the quality of the swords I have purchased thru SON (4 now total). Great price, great quality, and AWESOME customer service by Bryce and company!!! Please see attached pics of my son's katana.... BTW HE LOVED IT.

Price: $129.99

Date Added: 05/22/2018

By: Marquis B.

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Black Steel Blade Full Tang Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

Wow, pretty much everyone nailed it, customer service was awesome, Bryce sent pictures before shipping to ensure it was what I wanted. The swords packaging was very tight, the saya was beautiful, the sword itself was perfect and very sharp, also oiled nicely, I haven't tested much cutting with it but what I have tested is light brush, and it cuts like thin air, so I can ensure that it is great for tameshigiri. wrapping up though, the sword is outstanding in my opinion, I recommend it for anyone looking for a Katana. Well worth buying.

Price: $199.99

Date Added: 05/21/2018

By: Kay F

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Swords of Northshire is the best option for a beginner who wants to buy a strong, sturdy blade that can hold up to some use, but is still beautiful enough to use as a piece in a collection. The customer service is AMAZING, I got an answer to emails in less than 24 hours, and the level of customization can satisfy anyones wishes. When I ordered my custom katana I asked how I could get a different color of ito than the ones listed as options, and if I could have the engraving to be on the opposite side of the blade than the standard. All I had to do was put my requests in the comments section during checkout and they did it. It is also worth mentioning that on the handle everything is very tight and secure, I can't move the ito wrap AT ALL. Again, blown away by customer service and the quality of the blade, this is exactly the sword I wanted, and it is more than worth the money. I would like to point out that I am a very skeptical buyer and took about two weeks before I finally decided to buy the sword, so for all you skeptical buyers out there, THIS IS WHAT YOU WANT! Thank you again Swords of Northshire.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/17/2018

By: Benjamin

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

This was a first time buy for me, so I looked at other reviews and the pictures and decided to go for it. I ordered one that was folded and clay tempered. When it arrived I was so impressed with the quality of the craftsman ship that I ordered the Wakizashi version of the Katana. I ordered mine for heavy cutting and you can shave with it. The one question I asked by e-mail was responded to very quickly and politely. You won't be disappointed these are functional pieces of art.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/16/2018

By: Steve S.

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Sword of Northshire? They were Awesome! For long time customers and buyers we all knew SoN is the real deal for top quality custom sword products. I too have been fully Satisfied the moment I unsheathed my 9260 custom sword that was forged and signed by smith Yue Kui. My Order took place last 04/19. I thought it would take more than a week for my sword to be made but few days after 04/24 Bryce of SoN mailed back with pictures of the finished product. It was perfect and on 04/27 my sword was shipped. Tracking was provided and it took several stops and channels including canadian customs until it arrived today 05/08 at Scarborough, Toronto. I'm so happy. It was Fast! Packaging was very good it's a 2-part styro-case and SoN even threw in a couple spare mekugi in it. It fits perfectly inside the sword bag. It was far better in person compared to the pictures sent. All in all it was a very good purchasing experience and will continue to ba a patron of SoN services. For potential buyers, do not hesitate. Thank you Bryce, SoN team and Smith Yue Kui. It was a Great purchase!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/16/2018

By: Leo Lozano

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Skyrim Blades Sword Dragon & Snake Martial Arts Iaito Katana

Review:

Attention, the Swords of Northshire are incredible!! This is my first but probably not my last purchase from SON. I purchased this sword about a month ago and it arrived last week in a super reinforced well protected package. My sword is beautiful, tight construction, sharp as hell (I got the blade for heavy cutting not razor sharp and it works as described), and just fantastic. I don't usually post reviews for much of anything, but I felt the need to let you know that I am very happy with my purchase, especially when you compare this inexpensive katana against those costing MUCH more. If you are not interested in spending a ton of money for a really great weapon, you can't go wrong with this one. I have 3 swords from 3 vendors and this is easily my favorite. Period.

Price: $129.99

Date Added: 05/09/2018

By: Mike K.

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Just received my custom katana, and I’ll be honest, one of the best swords in my collection. Everything from the kissaki to the tsuba is excellent. Fittings are tight, blade is sharp, the Harmon is uniquely perfect. My only complaint is the size of the tsuba (handle), it’s a little small. I’m 6’6 and have bigger than usual hands. But it’s something I can work around. In conclusion, you can’t go wrong with these swords. North shire is the best I’ve seen so far. Keep up the excellent work northsire, you will be hearing from me again!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/02/2018

By: Justin

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Black Straight Blade Samurai Ninja Chokuto Sword

Review:

The crafting of this sword surpassed my expectations. It is more than what the images on this site make it out to be. I highly recommend because it's nearly flawless.

Price: $169.99

Date Added: 05/02/2018

By: Jace

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

The swords I have received are the finest quality and I absolutely love the handling and the balance each sword ordered. I would highly recommend Swords of Northshire to purchase your sword

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/01/2018

By: Gary M

View Product Details
1095 High Carbon Steel Blade Nagimaki Samurai Naginata Katana Nagamaki Sword

Review:

I would like to start by saying that I have been extremely pleased with the Nagamaki I purchased from Swords of Northshire. I made a short video review, linked at the bottom, showing the sword and testing it on a piece of Mugen Dachi omote, for all those who would prefer to not read a long review; however, I wanted to leave a more thorough review for any interested in the buying experience as a whole. I started the process of buying a sword by contacting Swords of Northshire about a few questions I had regarding customization options. They were very prompt in replying to my questions and provided useful information. From there, I was able to purchase the Nagamaki and then customize the length as well as having it clay tempered. As many other reviewers have noted, you can customize almost every aspect of the sword. Several of the customization options that are not listed cost extra, but Swords of Northshire does an excellent job tailoring swords to fit the individual. Once ordered the Swords of Northshire representative, Bryce, sent a few other customization options then they began work on the sword. This part of the process took a little bit longer than I initially expected; however, due to the amount of custom options that I chose two months from start to finish is really quite reasonable. Again, they were always prompt to answer any questions I had throughout the process and then sent pictures of the finished product before it shipped. The shipping was quick and the sword arrived in good shape. Upon inspection there were a couple spots on the spine that appeared to have not received the same mirror polish as the rest of the blade as well as a few tool marks on the tsuba, but those were of little concern and struck me as more indicative of a hand crafted sword then any actual flaws. The sword was made to the dimensions I had requested and had a very clear hamon from the clay tempering process. The tsukamaki was done well and the sword fit tightly in the saya. The blade was quite sharp and is made rather uniquely as a cross between a katana and naginata, as mentioned in the swords description. The main noteworthy aspects that differentiate this from a katana, besides the size, are the blade shape and the kissaki or tip of the sword. The blade shape is made in what they refer to as Unokubi-Zukuri which can be seen by observing how the spine gets thinner near the middle of the blade then thicker at the tip. The kissaki is also different, particularly because it is not well defined and lacks the yokote that would usually distinguish the kissaki from the rest of the blade. That aspect is presumably where the naginata influence comes from. Although I was initially worried about the thin spine being susceptible to bending, after testing it out it did not appear to impact the swords performance in any negative way. In fact, it may have even improved it some by reducing the friction on the blade as it passes through the target. All said, the sword functions well. As mentioned before, even with my remedial skills this sword easily cut through a piece of tatami omote and was not damaged or even scratched. All the fittings and the tsukamaki stayed tight after repeated cutting. I have been very impressed with Swords of Northshire from start to finish, but after receiving this sword I can say I will definitely be looking to buy from them again. (Link to the video mentioned): https://youtu.be/Pt6B02gZ-X4

Price: $463.99

Date Added: 05/01/2018

By: David Baird

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Martial Arts Iaito Golden Dragon Katana

Review:

I was looking for an entry katana as my first sword purchase for my haidong gumdo class and after lots of research, I stumbled on this website. I found most of the reviews to be honest and decided to go with an inexpensive unsharpened first purchase to test the waters. I could not be happier with my purchase from Swords of Northshire. My katana was built extremely sturdily and I felt comfortable enough with the build of the sword to not hold back while swinging it in class. I will DEFINITELY be purchasing from this website again and look forward to seeing another high quality product.

Price: $139.99

Date Added: 05/01/2018

By: Kayne Park

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

This is my first order from Swords of the Northshire. Although an arm injury currently prevents me from using it I am very satisfied so far. It is a solid, well-constructed product with a good heft. Fittings/wraps are tight with no give. Blade was oiled in saya, a bit tough to pull out with one arm,but of course that will change with use. Responses from SotN were quick and their willingness to assist and answer questions is excellent. The order process was easy and their communication, complete with photos of the product prior to assembly, is also excellent. If you have questions about your order, during and after, be assured they will answer in a timely manner and work with you. When I had questions about saya option, SotN was quick to provide options I missed. My first order and definitely not my last!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 04/30/2018

By: CabbitGuy

View Product Details
The Walking Dead Hand Forged Folded Damascus Steel Blade Michonne Katana Sword

Review:

I am so happy with this sword! It was packaged really well for shipping and arrived in perfect condition. There is nothing poor about the quality of this katana, it is very well made in every aspect. It's heavy, sharp, has beautiful detail and I love the engraving. Even the sheath is of great quality and amazing. I absolutely love it!!!

Price: $264.99

Date Added: 04/30/2018

By: Samantha

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Beautiful sword! The detail was even better than I had expected. Definitely willing to buy from them again. These swords make a great, personal gift.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 04/28/2018

By: Joe

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Very nice sword everything looks great, great customer service. Will be buying from them again and showing off this sword to all my friends.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 04/25/2018

By: Alan House

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I ordered a custom sword and overall very pleased with my purchase. I requested a 33 inch blade that was folded and differentially hardened, so it would have a natural hamon. After placing my order it took a little over two months to receive my sword. The blade was exactly the length I specified, the hamon, and grain pattern in the blade were both beautiful and highly visible. The fittings were very solid and well done. My only complaint is the tsunami was smaller than it looked on the website, but this isn’t a deal breaker for me. The saya was well made and the swords fits incredibly secure. All in all this is the best sword I’ve purchased at this price point ($602.00) and I definitely recommend buying from them.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 04/23/2018

By: Michael

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Full Tang Hawk Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

Purchased this for my boyfriend. He absolutely loved it! Very high quality and the attention to detail was excellent. I thought shipping was a little slow, but then I realized it was being made and shipped directly from China. Once the package arrived in the US shipping jumping into hyper speed. You will have to sign for the package, so be aware. This is a great sword for all those sword lovers out there. You will not be disappointed. Enjoy!

Price: $129.99

Date Added: 04/23/2018

By: EJ's mom

View Product Details

    

At Swords of Northshire, we pride ourselves in our quality work. If for any reason you aren't happy with your purchase, we will make it right! We guarantee you'll love your sword or your money back