All Swords of Northshire Reviews

Hand Forged Folded Damascus Steel Blade Cherry Blossom Carving Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

I recently purchased this sword as a surprise for my boyfriend. The craftsmanship was exquisite and I appreciated how I was sent pictures to approve of my order. I had the blade custom engraved to say, "Will you marry me?" in Japanese kanji. He was blown away and I am now proud to call him my "fiancé." I will definitely be ordering from Swords of Northshire again!

Price: $326.99

Date Added: 09/18/2018

By: Kristin

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I've received my sword and I couldn't be happier! The craftsmanship is exactly what I expected. Thank you for your work!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/17/2018

By: Levi Walsh

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I received my custom katana earlier this week. First of all, was really impressed with the packaging. When I removed the sword from the bag I was very impressed. The fit and finish of the handle and saya was tight and close. Drawing the blade from it just made me smile. It was well oiled and sharp. Before doing any cutting with it, I wiped the blade with rice paper and did a quick polish on it. Even that was a mind focusing and clearing experience. I will be taking the time on a regular basis to sit and quietly clean, polish, and oil the blade. I then went out into my yard and did some light cutting of millet stalks I have growing. They are perhaps an 1/8 of an inch to 1/4 inch in diameter. The blade slid through them like warm butter. Clean and precise cuts. I will be ordering a matching custom wakizashi soon and I will be going for the razor edge on it. I'm waiting on some mats to practice more heavy cutting. In the meantime it's getting to be the time when you can start buying corn stalks. Bundled together these make economical cutting targets. I have not had to sharpen the sword yet but I have purchased some good stones for that. I was a butcher in a previous career and putting a razor edge on a blade is an art and another calming process. Swords of Northshire exceeded my expectations and in addition to my own new blade I am considering buying one as a gift for my son.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/17/2018

By: James Lapenta

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Damascus Steel Straight Blade Huali Wood Shirasaya Samurai Ninja Sword

Review:

I`m Trainer for Ninjutsu in Switzerland and we are searching for Katanas or Shirasaya in a great Quality! The Quality of this Product is great but is a bit heavy. The blade should be a bit lighter than it would be perfect! I will try to do Tameshigiri and will report you how my cutting experience was! I will recommend this Shirasaya to my students! Best Regards Michel

Price: $239.99

Date Added: 09/15/2018

By: Michel Musa

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Martial Arts Iaito Katana

Review:

Just received the sword. It's awesome. This is not the first katana I own, so when I compare it with other ones at the same price range, I can see it is the best at that rank, especially for the ito, it is wrapped amazingly firm. That is my favorite part.

Price: $159.99

Date Added: 09/12/2018

By: Luke

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I just received my custom katana yesterday. I am very pleased. The blade is straight and true with excellent balance for me. A preliminary cutting test in my yard was eye opening. I did not opt for the razor edge since I plan to use this for heavier cutting but it is still extremely sharp and tough vegetation was sliced cleanly with no evidence on the blade of having been used. I will gradually work up to matting. Right now I'm going to concentrate on cleaning and polishing practice as well as some light edge dressing. The sword fittings are tight and there is no looseness in the handle. It arrived well oiled in just under two weeks. I am so happy with it that there is a good chance I will order a matching wakizashi as well as a sword for my son for his birthday/Christmas present. Based on this experience there is a very good chance this is not my last purchase of a custom katana. Thanks for an excellent experience and great product.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/11/2018

By: James Lapenta

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I doubted at first, but when it came, it blew me away with the quality. This sword is mine and mine alone.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/08/2018

By: Christopher Brennan

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Martial Arts Iaito Katana

Review:

I am incredibly happy with my purchase. The sword is beautiful and feels great. The Saya fit is quite nice and the draw is very smooth. Very impressed with the value for money on this one, it's a shame the Sageo and grip wrap greens don't quite match but nontheless a very nice sword.

Price: $159.99

Date Added: 09/02/2018

By: David

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I am very happy with my sword. I like it better than my Cold Steel emperor series katana. My sword came to me exactly like I ordered. My only issue was delivery but that was an issue with USPS.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/01/2018

By: Ray L

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Beautiful and masterfully crafted. Amazing customer support. If you're looking for a custom sword this is your place. Phenomenal quality.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/01/2018

By: Joseph

View Product Details
Traditional 2 Layer Wooden Sword Stand Display For Katana and Chinese Swords

Review:

Beautifully carved stand. Wood is of good quality and displays the sword very well.

Price: $64.99

Date Added: 09/01/2018

By: Michael

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Damascus Steel Clay Tempered Samurai Katana Dragon Sword

Review:

I cannot put into words how beautiful this Katana is. It is everything that I hoped it to be. I ordered this sword with the same SAGEO, SAME'GAWA and ITO and it looks exactly like it does it the pictures. I would recommend this sword to any Katana/Sword lover and Swords of Northshire for their great communication and customer service.

Price: $426.99

Date Added: 09/01/2018

By: Michael

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I had my son customize his katana one day and then months later I bought it for him and surprised him for his birthday. This katana is the talk of my house. He loves it. The craftsmanship on this was extremely good. Had it engraved and even got the stand for it. I will be purchasing another smaller one to fit his stand. Great customer service and fast delivery.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/30/2018

By: Darcey Jones

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

My Background: I practice Aikido about 3 times a week, and I take an Iaido class once a week (But practice Iaido about three or four times a week). I ordered this sword as an Iaito, in other words, unsharpened, so I can't comment on cutting or blade sharpness; obviously. I currently have a beautiful Japanese made Iaito made for me by Minosaka that I use in my class etc. It has an aluminum /zinc blade, but I wanted something a little heavier for home practice on some days. Something just a little different than what I am used to, so I took a chance and ordered from Swords of Northshire. I especially liked being able to pick saya color, sageo, tsuba etc. I went for a Koi or carp theme. Turned out quite beautiful. First off; I am very impressed with the quality of this sword vs. the cost. It literately cost less then half the price of my Minosaka sword. I have practiced quite hard (Kata and general cutting, suburi) with this sword a few times now; and it seems to be holding up fine. The ito is nice and tight, no issues. The hardware all seems tight; no rattles or anything weird. The saya and sageo are holding up. I probably have done over 200 nukitsuke and noto with this sword so far. I have had this sword for less then a week as of this writing. All in all, well worth the price. I highly recommend one of these for any Iaidoka looking for a first or "back up" training sword, or any Aikidoka looking to try the feel of a "real" sword. If you are thinking of taking an Iaido class, this sword (unsharpened) will serve you well. Absolutely fine. My only complaint; the saya seems to be a little lower quality. The little bushings (shitidome) in the kurigata had to be reglued, (no big deal really) and there are a few scuffs from the sageo on the saya as if the sageo was tied on before the lacquer was completely dry. No big deal, really. Just buff it out a bit. Also the sageo is functional but not the highest quality. May eventually replace. BUT...all in all a really nice sword worth more then I paid for it. I honestly really like this sword and the service I received. I will order again from this site soon. I am already planning a sharpened version of this sword. Bottom line: Good deal! A !

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/30/2018

By: John B.

View Product Details
1095 High Carbon Steel Clay Tempered Katana with Hand Carved Saya

Review:

I'm very pleased with the sword on the craftmanship and the gorgeous work on it.

Price: $469.99

Date Added: 08/30/2018

By: Robert

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

This is sword #3, and I love it! I went with no hamon this time and 1095 folded steel, which took a little longer to forge, but well worth the wait! From initial order to delivery took about 2 and a half weeks, still well within the approximate 2-3 week estimate. As always customer service was excellent and even provided me with additional sample pictures of sayas because I couldn't make up my mind about which one I wanted. I'm very satisfied with my choice. The darker non-lacquered wood is beautiful. I also didn't know that you could request the same color Ito for the Sageo as well, so that was nice. The engraving reads as "shizukesa" or "tranquility". Excellent quality as usual and you can't beat Northshire prices. I have recommended this site several times since discovering it.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/27/2018

By: PurpleHaze

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Overall a positive experience. Any questions I had during the time my order was being built, were answered promptly. It took longer than expected for me to receive my sword because customs shipped it back to Swords of the Northshire for some reason... Also there are small blemishes on either side of the blade near the tip of the sword as well. These should not affect function but aesthetically the blemishes definitely bother me. The sword feels great in my hands and the fit and finish are great (other than the marks on the blade). This is my first katana so I do not have much to compare it to. I am not sure I would purchase again because what ever quality control measures are in place, lets blades with blemishes get sent to customers. This error should have been caught and never sent out to me.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/25/2018

By: Brian H

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

When I ordered My First Katana, I was very Skeptical about ordering a Sword Online, Knowing that there are so many makers that could be fraudulent and that make swords that could and would break of the first swing, I was quite Fearful, the ones on Ebay look good but who would know if they are true, after looking around for a bit i was unsatisfied with what I could find and what I wanted, In this world Good quality is hard to find. Superb Quality is what I found, Swords of Northshire, with their Customization options, Showing a High Quality Rendition of the Sword during the Customization Prosess, did not leave me wondering what the whole Sword would look like and being disappointed by the piece of junk i did not want, but made me secure with my purchase. When it arrived, before I expected it to, seeing it wrapped ever so Lovingly, it was a good feeling knowing that it was not damaged, pulling the blade in its saya out of the Beautiful box that the blade sitting in within the packaging and drawing the blade and seeing the piece of art the blade is, I had a deep inhale and a sense of shock as i felt the weight and gave it a swing to see if it was the real deal. Later on, when I mustered the curage to defile the blade on a tree, I tested it on a tree About an Inch and a Half thick, it nearly cut through on a half worked swing. Although I do have one complaint Probably my fault is the engraving near the Tsuka. I meant it to say "Devout in Life and Death", But the shear beauty makes that problem seem, like it is not there, the engravement still makes it look really good!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/24/2018

By: Colton Roejskjaer

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

The quality is incredible. The customer service transcends any other customer service experience I've had. And the website is reliable and very well designed. Anyone that is looking to get a well-crafted blade, this is the place!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/24/2018

By: J Wag

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1095 High Carbon Steel Unokubi Zukuri Samurai Sword Katana & Wakizashi Set

Review:

the swords are really beautiful, I totally fall in love with them when I see them, they have an excellent quality for the price thanks swordsofnorthshire team for this good work

Price: $569.99

Date Added: 08/24/2018

By: jose

View Product Details

    

At Swords of Northshire, we pride ourselves in our quality work. If for any reason you aren't happy with your purchase, we will make it right! We guarantee you'll love your sword or your money back