All Swords of Northshire Reviews

Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Absolutely wonderful. Top tier customer service, and 11/10 stars. If you're in doubt about this service, look no further. This is the only place I would suggest getting a custom blade. I even got the custom shaped saya I had asked for. Pointed End. All in all, I will definitely return, and wholeheartedly, suggest Swords of Northshire for all your katana needs. Do I even need to mention the 4 day shipping I received?

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/25/2015

By: Isaac L.

View Product Details
1095 High Carbon Steel Blade Nagimaki Samurai Naginata Katana Nagamaki Sword

Review:

I believe that in these days a household needs a hunting rifle, a shotgun, a self-defense pistol and when government intervention prevents the manufacture and sale of ammunition I believe citizens need to acquire other sources of self defense such as bows and arrows and swords. There are many reasons for buying a sword and I had enough reasons to look for one of the best and I mean world class originations. I was amazingly lucky enough to have come across swordsofnorthshire.com. I looked at all their offerings on a well organized web site, which allowed me to design my own Samurai sword; no stumbling blocks, just straight ahead pleasure. Within a week or more I had photographs sent to me of the now finished beautiful Samurai sword and how it looked and "Did I approve and want it shipped". Did I ever. The photos were so beautiful I anticipated it's delivery every day. When I received this sword it was truly beyond all my expectations. So perfectly sharpened and well balanced. The scabbard and handle, I am using English words to describe Japanese terms, were perfect, the point of the sword was reinforced and shaped to perfection; the length of the sword is all anyone would ever need. The handle can be gripped as a baseball bat and swung as going for a home run. This sword looks to be able to cut through most anything which to me is what I spent my money on. I consider this purchase worth every penny. I could say more exciting descriptions about this sword but I think I will let you discover them for yourself.

Price: $463.99

Date Added: 08/20/2015

By: Andre Land

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Great company to work with! I would highly reccomend them. I bought a custom sword as a wedding gift for my husband-to-be, and he loved it!! He was impressed by the quality of the sword. I was impressed by how great these guys are to work with. If I had a question, they got back to me within a matter of minutes and sword was done sooner than I expected!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/11/2015

By: Jen Criss

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

10/10 I orded my custom katana from here, best decision i have ever made, options for customisation were very detailed with plenty of choice. Once i placed my order i received multiple emails to ensure that what i had chosen was correct and to confirm details, replies were fast and very helpful and friendly, treated with great care. Well packaged and the decorative box it arrived in it stunning! The detail on the sword itself was exactly what i had asked for and is perfect. I would recommend to any one thinking about buying one to look here. The quality is amazing and would happily pay upwards of twice the price for the quality and service!!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/10/2015

By: Josh walker

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Great product for the money! EXCELLENT Cutomer Service!! I would recommend your product and great service to anyone. Thank you!!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/10/2015

By: Rick Braxton

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I bought mine as a gift. I looked all over till I found Swords of Northshire and was impressed by the reasonable price and the range of customization. I had a lot of fun picking out the different parts and hit send. After that I was truly blown away by the communication from the company from the beginning to pictures of the product to the end. When I got it, I was also impressed by the quality of the workmanship. As of now, I haven't given it yet, but I know my friend will love it. Next thing to do now is get one for myself!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/01/2015

By: David

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I've always wanted a custom made katana made to my specific verifications. So I decided to purchase one from SNS (Swords of Northshire) and made one. Was ecstatic to find that the customer service was well rounded and fantastic. Everything was perfect about my transaction with SNS. When it came to shipment, I won't lie, I was a little discouraged after reading the comments about the services. But I got my shipment on time. All in all, %100 on everything about SNS.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 07/27/2015

By: Juan Adame

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I originally planned on purchasing from SBG (Sword Buyers Guide), but decided against it when I asked them for 10% off on their custom katana which they promote frequently. They extended 5%. I looked elsewhere and found Swords of Northshire. They charge significantly less for more customization options, it felt like. On top of nearly flawless reviews and a clean website (which makes a big friggin' difference, fyi), it was a no brainer, I decided to trust them with my money. First and foremost, please note that my katana was almost certainly made in China as it shipped directly from Longquan. However, SoN never once claimed "Made in Japan". Furthermore, if there was a place in China to have a sword made, it would be Longquan. Even to the way the Ito was wrapped (differentiating with each wrap), the team that assembled my katana knew what they were doing. Not forgetting the price I paid (over 300), it's truly hard to complain. Therefore origin will not affect my rating. 1.) The level of customer service I received was extraordinary and personalized. People were friendly and professional. Not 10 minutes after placing my order past 11oclock pm, I received a call to specify how I wanted the custom Kanji engraved. No question went unanswered in more than a day. Everyone on the sales staff was exceptionally helpful and it reassured me I had chosen the right group. 2.) The sword was shipped securely. There was a lot of tape and Styrofoam. I place value in how companies handle their own products and I was delighted to discover they went to great lengths to insure I received my katana in perfect condition. It came beautifully wrapped in an equally beautiful sword bag which cost me $5 extra. 3.) The sword just feels good in your hand. I've owned a few other swords, and the construction in this one is tight, tight, tight. No loose parts. The Tsuba doesn't rattle, the blade doesn't pull lose from the Saya, even when held upside down and shook gently. The Sageo Cord is thick and tightly wound. The Tsuba, Fuchi and Kashira are a work of art and precisely what I ordered. Every piece of fitting is solid and snug. This feels like a samurai sword should. 4.) The custom kanji I had engraved onto the blade was done to precision. I was surprised I was charged only $25.00 extra. I don't know of another place willing to do this service, let alone for so little. 5.) I have a few qualms. First, the blade. While the actual sharpness could use some improvement, I have trouble getting upset as I chose the cheapest steel option. I didn't want to drop 700+ on a sword maker I was unfamiliar with. That's probably on me, not them. However, I was disappointed to see that my Hamon (temper line) was done with a Notare (Wave) rather than the Midare (Irregular) pattern I had specified. I'm no sword expert, nor do I pretend to be, but the two are distinctly different patterns. I'd bet money on it and I don't gamble. Looking back upon my order summary, the miscommunication was not my doing. Don't get me wrong, the hamon is still beautifully done. Finally, while the saya is gorgeous, it is also not the blue I ordered. In fact it wasn't even an option at the time. Rather than blue, it is a dark dark glossy navy. I'm aware that colors look different digitally than in person, but in this instance, it's clear to me they're different sayas. That being said, had it been an option available, I personally would have selected it over the lighter blue. I got lucky. :) In conclusion, when you order from SoN, you're going to get a work of art. It will be treated as such from the moment you order until the moment you get it. Every question in between that time will be answered professionally and hastily. The miscommunication with the Hamon leaves something to be desired, but craftsmanship of the blade was dead on. Furthermore, searching the reviews below mine, it's clear that I was the exception, and not the rule (Which is a great thing). And for $305? For a custom made sword? Crafted in roughly a month and a half? I struggle to be upset. I was taken care of and it's clear you will be too. I will be purchasing again. I hope my review has helped in your decision. (Side note, this is a sword that can be used seamlessly for decoration or Iaido or both.)

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 07/23/2015

By: C. R. O'Mara

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Martial Arts Iaito Katana

Review:

Great looking sword, feels totally solid. I had it slightly customized to closely match the feel and weight of my custom Katana that I also got from Swords of North Shire. They were totally ablieging in doing that to one of there standard swords.

Price: $159.99

Date Added: 07/22/2015

By: Joel Hughes

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Omg! i love this sword and its awesome and it look so beautiful, just as i imagine it.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 07/13/2015

By: Natsu

View Product Details
1095 High Carbon Steel Clay Tempered Unokubi Zukuri Katana

Review:

Overall I am happy with this sword. I use it for practice. The tsuba is textured and a bit rough on the thumb but I have gotten used to it. Also, I have had to keep it oiled due to rust beginning to form from contact during practice.

Price: $529.99

Date Added: 07/06/2015

By: Scott

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

They comply exactly to what you've ordered, nothing astray. The craftsmanship is honestly close to flawless, and the customer support has to be one of the friendliest and active I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with. I thought that they would be mediocre at best, considering it is a tab and click customization, but they really do an amazing job, going on with requests even after the order is placed, and getting back to you immediately. Thanks for "Shoten", Swords of Northshire.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 07/03/2015

By: Z From Long Island

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Great communication! I really appreciated the photo confirmation before shipping. The sword is beautiful and nicely constructed.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 07/01/2015

By: Dave H.

View Product Details
Left-Handed Katana 1095 High Carbon Steel Clay Tempered Unokubi Zukuri Blade

Review:

This was the custom katana I ordered from Swords of Northshire. -The blade is nice and sharp, and although I have yet to test cut it, it feels like it'd have no issue cutting through different tatami sizes. There is a small scuff or two on the blade, but isn't not a big deal (for me). -The Tsuka and it's fittings are very secure, however some of the mekugi's are covered by the ito wrap, making it harder is one wishes to take it apart. -The sheath/saya is lovely, but upon closer inspection, there are two rather long cracks (probably caused by climate differences) in the saya that can potentially break or ruin the sheath over time. The shitodome were also only pressure fitted and came loose once I unwrapped the sageo. In the end, the blade looks and feels nice for what it is. I will get many uses out of it, but there are a few flaws in it, that might pose an issue for some. (For me, it's the saya.) I wouldn't mind doing business with him and Swords of Northshire again.

Price: $529.99

Date Added: 06/26/2015

By: HJ S.

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Swords of Northshire is absolutely outstanding. My custom katana is extremely well made and beautiful I am very pleased with it. Their customer service is also outstanding they work with you and help anyway they can to ensure that your order surpasses your expectations.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 06/24/2015

By: Joseph C.

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I was totally impressed with my sword right out of the box! It handles like a lazer pointer but cuts like a lightsaber! Love it, love it! Could not be happier. Just have to figure out what sword I will get built next.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 06/14/2015

By: Joel Hughes

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Good communication. Very pleased with my sword.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 06/09/2015

By: Tom From Ohio

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

The quality in craftsmanship of the sword I had custom made is impeccable. The materials are beautiful. The staff where always a available when needed and very informative.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 06/03/2015

By: Paul Schmitt

View Product Details
Hand Forged Red Folded Steel Tiger Katana Samurai Sword

Review:

I purchased the Folded steel tiger. The sword is razor sharp and really well made. Looking forward to my next purchase with swords of Northshire. Thanks for such a nice training tool.Completely satisfied.

Price: $369.99

Date Added: 05/30/2015

By: Richard

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I am extremely satisfied with Swords of Northshire. Aside from my custom katana being absolutely beautiful and well made, their customer service is outstanding. They accommodated me at every step. My second custom katana is in the mail now! Can't recomend them enough, and will certainly be doing more business in the future.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/29/2015

By: Matt K.

View Product Details

    

At Swords of Northshire, we pride ourselves in our quality work. If for any reason you aren't happy with your purchase, we will make it right! We guarantee you'll love your sword or your money back