All Swords of Northshire Reviews

Devil May Cry Vergil 1095 High Carbon Steel DMC Yamato Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

Working with swords of Northshire on this was honestly quite a blessed experience. I emailed back and forth with one of their agents and they answered any questions I had, in addition to going through with some suggestion and additional information about the order to confirm my needs and weigh the pricing before going ahead with my order. It was excellent customer service, since I didn't quite have a great idea on a price point for the additional I originally asked for and there was a good chance I would have spent quite a bit more than I would have imagined. I did, however, ask for a custom etching to be made, and with what limited reference they had, I would say they did an excellent job replicating what came from my imagination. (Embedded image) The only minor inconvenience being the mail route that was chosen, but that's something I can't hold against Northshire, since it was an ongoing issue that I'd had with Delivery medium to begin with. When I got the sword in, It was already pre-oiled, as to be expected on plain carbon, So after handling it for a little bit, I got a pretty good feel for everything. The sword is quite light from what I expected; It had been years since I last properly held one, but it feels great in the hand. Construction is quite dense, tightly fitted together, The saya fitting as well very nice balance between secure and not too tightly squeezed in. Functionally, everything is as it should be, hardly any complaints about the build quality. The Craftsmanship is no different either, The ito wrap tight and very consistent, The small details on the saya, the engraving, the tsuba, and the kashira all very visible and clean, The hamon, while fake, is still a very visually appealing detail. One thing that surprised me was the saya holding up: the weather is turning quite frigid where I live and I was to expect a little bit of cracking in the wood, but the only minor visual issue I could see was a small scratch near one of the cap fittings, possibly a small mistake when trying to lay the fittings on the end. All in all, this is a very complete package. For where it came from, the sword is about as accurate of a replica as you could possibly get it. There's a particular way the ito was wrapped in Devil may Cry 3 and 4 that I'm almost certain isn't exactly physically possible, as unique as it appears. Some things just don't work translating fantasy to reality, but, I can say I'm pretty happy with what I got and could recommend to pretty much anybody who wants it as well.

Price: $369.99

Date Added: 11/15/2019

By: Octavius Cunningham

View Product Details
Kill Bill Brides Katana Replica Hand Forged 1095 High Carbon Steel Blade Samurai Sword

Review:

I purchased this replica sword as a gift for a very dear friend. She is a very big fan of both movies and has an autographed official movie poster from the first movie. To say that the gift was well received would be an understatement, as she was speechless, and in tears.Thank you, so much, for making that possible. The sword is beautifully crafted, and the attention to detail incredible. You have allowed me to make my friend very happy!

Price: $339.99

Date Added: 11/15/2019

By: Don Giles

View Product Details
Hand Forged Black Folded Steel Custom Samurai Dragon Wakizashi Sword

Review:

This was a gift for my son-in-law. He loves it! He is beginning his collection of katana & wakizashi swords. YouTube has a video ( Japanese sword making in Longquan, China ) on how these swords are made. The sword we ordered is beautiful & excellently made. I consider this sword as a mid-range sword when it comes to quality. To ensure a higher level of handwork & detail to attention, consider paying a little more for that attention. When the time comes, we will be ordering again through Swords of Northshire. We are very happy with Sword of Northshire customer service and attention. The whole ordering process to delivery took about 4 weeks.

Price: $269.99

Date Added: 11/15/2019

By: Scott

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Black Steel Blade Full Tang Samurai Wakizashi Sword

Review:

I have & have had many swords. For the price this is a great sword, couldn't be happier.

Price: $159.99

Date Added: 11/15/2019

By: Harley

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Bat Tsuba Martial Arts Iaito Katana

Review:

These sword is well balanced and swings nicely. The edge is perfect. It was delivered on time and well packaged. This is the sword was my first purchase from Northshire and I am very happy with the service and quality of the blade. I will most certainly order from them again!

Price: $169.99

Date Added: 11/15/2019

By: Allen

View Product Details
Hand Forged Red Folded Steel Custom Samurai Wakizashi Sword

Review:

I absolutely love this sword!! It turned out beautiful and is very well made. A great addition to my collection. Well balanced and fully sharpened great for practice or decoration.

Price: $249.99

Date Added: 10/31/2019

By: Terrence Schoelen

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I bought this custom wakizashi for my daughter, who recently started sword training in her dojo, and allowed her to make all of the decisions for every customizable option. It's great to have a high quality, functional sword that is also expressive of her personality. When I asked her for her opinion for this review, she commented that the wakizashi is sturdy, easy to use, and has a good grip. But in terms of looks (and it's a beautiful sword), she loves the kanji engraving, and the tigers look great! Service at Northshire is awesome: in the preliminary photos before delivery, the fuchi and kashira did not show their tigers, and when we inquired, they promptly provided new photos of the other side of the sword (to which my daughter responded "COOL!"). When she gets older and needs an upgrade to a katana, I'll definitely be coming back to Northshire to order.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 10/29/2019

By: Richard

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Black Blade Wakizashi Samurai Sword

Review:

This wakizashi is a great product. The tsuka is perfectly fitted, the ito is tight, the fuchi-kashira, tsuba, habaki and menuki are beautifully made and line up well with the ito. The engraving is crisp, the blackened surface is smooth, and the blade is generally well made. An issue is that initially, the edge of the sword was inconsistent; the edge closer to the tsuka was sharp, but gradually got worse towards the tip. In fact, there was no edge at the kissaki portion of the blade; it was a 1mm width unsharpened section. I have since sharpened it myself. The inconsistent edge could be better, but overall the sword is masterfully made.

Price: $163.99

Date Added: 10/29/2019

By: Huery

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

When I first ordered the sword, all of my friends thought it was a dumb thing to buy such a "useless" product. I kept on telling them of all the fun that I, or even, we could have but they didn't budge on their stance. Then, when the sword finally arrived (very fast shipping btw), every one of my friends were amazed by its beauty. All they, and my self included, wanted to do was to play with it hahaha. The sword in person captivated everyone. The fact that you could see the individual folds in the steel (an option I knew I had to have) in such detail awed all of us. The attention to detail and the craftsmanship was next to none. As I was customizing the sword, I had extremely high hopes for it. The sheer amount of different things I could customize excited me more and more as I got closer and closer to the checkout screen. When the sword arrived, it blew every single one of my expectations that I had for it, out of the water. Very happy with how it turned out.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 10/28/2019

By: Ishan Kumar

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Superb, just superb. My first was for me. My second was for my best man’s 50th. I can easily see my third in my future. Don’t hesitate. If you want a sword, this is THE place to order it from.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 10/28/2019

By: Roger

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Damascus Steel Full Tang Blade Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

Quality piece for a good price I’ll definitely be buying another piece in the future.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 10/28/2019

By: Chris

View Product Details
Dark Souls Uchigatana Hand Forged Folded Blade Samurai Sword Katana Video Game Replica

Review:

Very pleased with this sword. They made sure the fittings were tight, the engraving was perfect, and the sword is sharp. The packaging is kinda crazy with how hard it is to open, but this is just me being nitpicky. Really, this is a great company, very excellent customer service, who offer quality swords at a fair price. Happy as always, as this is not my first order :)

Price: $274.99

Date Added: 10/26/2019

By: Chris

View Product Details
The Walking Dead Hand Forged Red Folded Steel Sharp Michonne Katana

Review:

Exceedingly pleased with this fine Katana. Craftsmanship and materials are excellent, eg, both sides of the strap are finished, leather is wide and supple. Used mostly as a movie prop, the sword is proudly displayed in the lobby of our home theater. Product and service are highly recommended!

Price: $369.99

Date Added: 10/22/2019

By: Fred

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Steel Blade Samurai Sword Golden Crane Katana

Review:

This was my first time purchasing a katana & I am honestly shocked at the amazing quality! I am extremely happy with my purchase & the price, customer service, & shipping time were all perfect. It is such a beautiful blade & look forward to ordering more in the future!

Price: $219.99

Date Added: 10/14/2019

By: Farhan

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

So i'll just cut(haha) to the chase. This sword is freaking awesome. I've used the blade i got twice so far for Tameshigiri, and have been satisfied with the results of what I've gotten. Secondly the team was very helpful as i wanted to get a tassel added to my hilt, and it looks so nice. The only other accesory i wasnt able to get was having beads wrapped around the blade resembling Miyamoto Musashi from Samurai Warriors( it'd make the blade not all to functional. One day though XD). All in all though i would recommend these guys. Also PS shout out to Skallagrim i wouldn't have found these guys if he hadn't reviewed a sword by them.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 10/11/2019

By: Armaun

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I can't remember if I did a review already. But I just got done doing a 3 part review for my outrageous SON custom katana. It's basically a nodachi with a katana handle. Everything came as expected, packaging was extremely well done. One of the best parts, outside the sword itself, was dealing with Bryce. He went above and beyond to make sure I was getting exactly what I wanted, and was willing to go out of his way to check with me about progress. I have complete faith in SON, and I hope you are willing to give them a try! My blade has a 41.5 inch nagasa and 12 inch handle, about. It's stupid large, but they really hit the mark with this one. I can't believe they did such a good job on a sword that just seems insane! But they did it! 5 stars!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/22/2019

By: Big Steve

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

This has been the best sword I've ever had. Everything was tight and handled great. The blade didnt dull even after I accidentally hit a wooden railing. The negative I have is the saya was a little bit too tight but after more use I'm sure itll be fine

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/18/2019

By: Steven Ven

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

As an admitted non-expert in Katanas and beginner in Iaido, I find this katana to be beautiful (it is a practice blade.) It is a work of art even if I never use it! The whole experience of building your own Katana and interacting with staff was an example of excellent customer service. The fact that they provide the service of making your own is a gift. The process makes you think about who you are and what does each piece mean to you. The Katana is an extension of you. You learn about each piece of the sword as you go through the building process. It took me weeks before I was comfortable with the combinations. Even after ordering it, I needed to make one change; they were very accommodating. I look forward to the day when I am experienced enough to get my next one with a live blade; I’ll be back here.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/17/2019

By: Laura

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

1095 folded, clay tempered katana pros: appearance, quality, feel/balance, price, does not rattle in saya cons: blade sharpness is not consistent from yokote to hamachi. overall: Still give it 5 stars. I plan to buy another one or two..

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/04/2019

By: Timothy

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Fantastic sword, delivered quickly and professionally, exactly as I ordered it. Such a beautiful blade, and it feels nice and well-balanced in hand as well. I can't wait to try it out on some tatami mats! Thanks to the smiths and also thanks to Bryce for the top notch customer service! Cheers!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/02/2019

By: Julien Renaud

View Product Details

    

At Swords of Northshire, we pride ourselves in our quality work. If for any reason you aren't happy with your purchase, we will make it right! We guarantee you'll love your sword or your money back