All Swords of Northshire Reviews

Hand Forged 1095 High Carbon Steel Tactical Outdoor Survival Wakizashi

Review:

As a long time martial arts practitioner / enthusiasts, I have always had a keen fascination for Katana's.  Although I have never had any extensive training in the area of Katana's, I have always owned a couple Katana's for many years (gifts from long ago). In 2015, I decided to get more serious about my katana collection and I started researching.  Based on my research and reviews, I ended up purchasing a 1095 clay tempered Katana from Swords of Northshire.  When this blade first arrived, I was very concerned with the level of quality so I inspected this blade with a great deal of scrutiny.  My inspection concluded that this was a very well made Katana's with a level of quality worthy of being on display in my home. I put this blade to the test and it to cut many tagets (both hard and soft) with absolutely zero issues. It wasn't long before I was already ordering my next blade from Swords of Northshire!  My next katana was a gyaku-kobuse 1095/1060 clay tempered blade.  This sword is absolutely stunning to look at and its cutting performance is nothing short of impressive.  When it arrived, there was some damage to the saya from shipping but Swords of Northshire took care of getting me a new one with no issues.  Impressive blades and true customer service. Since this time, I have purchased a total of 10 Katana's from Swords of Northshire including 1095 blades, gyaku-kobuse blades, 1060 folded blades, and T-10 blades.  They are all part of a stunning collection that is beautiful to look at and fully functional.  I still teach martial arts and have a company that helps people with defensive tactics training.  I direct all of my customers & clients to Swords of Northshire to purchase a work of art Katana for their living room that is beautiful to look at but is instantly a reliable defensive weapon if the situation should ever arise.  If you are looking for an absolutely quality built blade that is both beautiful and functional, I strongly suggest Swords of Northshire.  They are extremely fair with prices for blades that will perform every time you need them.

Price: $246.99

Date Added: 01/12/2021

By: Rob N

View Product Details
One Piece Shusui Roronoa Zoro Clay Tempered & Folded 1095 High Carbon Steel Katana Sword

Review:

Have bought 3 swords now all are incredible and high quality, i recommend

Price: $429.99

Date Added: 01/08/2021

By: Aaron b.

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Before I actually start the review, I want to state that I do NOT blame the owner or black smiths who made the swords as the cons I will be listing down could possible occur due to a switch of environments causing the handle of the sword to change so I could have been one of the few unfortunate buyers. For the cons I will be going from the least severe issue to what I found to be most severe issue. This review is conducted roughly 3-4 months of the sword receival. Pros - Blade geometry is amazing if you prefer blade that are on the thin side - The sharpness is great for what it is; Depending on thickness of what your cutting you may have to throw more hip rotation for a stronger cut due to the nature of the thin blade - Sheathing the sword is no issue as it does not feel like the blade will cut into the scabbard Cons: While the blade did it's job at cutting, the fittings for the katana was more of a struggle than I had hoped. - The replacement mekugi pins do not fit at all - The pins could no come off despite using the Mekuginuki (bronze hammer) or using a mallet and lightly pounding something the size of the pin to push it out. I did make sure I was doing it against the tapered side. I even attempted to use the Mekuginuki's handle and pressed it against the pin (as some videos shown that was an option). The pin overall just got damaged. -I ended up resorting to taking out the silk wrap, rayskin, and getting some filer to file the wood down and use a flat head to split the actual Handle in half to figure out what the issue was with the pins. -It wasn't until I split the wooden handle and took it apart that pressing against the pin with a solid object got it to be pushed out the metal handle - The final struggle I really had was the 4 pieces for the Tsuba. Everything BUT the tsuba was easy to take out. Either the metal handle was not filed down enough or the Tsuba wasn't properly shaped since it was stuck on the handle. I had to forcefully push it out which ended up damaging it. Overall Review: IF you want a sword that has great blade geometry, fast due to thin blade nature, and for cutting simple things like water bottles the blade for sure does the job without any issue. I would recommend this sword for those who want a blunt blade for Iaido as it's fairly light. I would also say for a price of roughly $200 this would be great sword to practice maintenance on too. Despite fitting issues, the performance of the sword itself met my expectations. I also want to express one more time, I do NOT blame the owner or those who assembled the blade. After all, the shipment from different environments could have affected it and I may have been one of the few unlucky ones.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 01/08/2021

By: Jason Lee

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

The sword is absolutely beautiful. It has really amazing craftsmanship and quality for a very good price. It is sturdy, strong, and secure. There are no loose parts to it. It is exactly what I envisioned. To get an expectation of shipping time, I ordered on November 5th 2020 and it was shipped on November 24th 2020 and received on December 4th 2020, so it was actually pretty fast especially during the time of the pandemic. The customer service was very helpful and responsive within 24 hours. My favorite thing about the process is that they also show you pictures of your order when they are done to confirm that you are comfortable with it. The customization is also great. I added a different saya(scabbard) and just added it to my order at no additional cost. This company has exceeded my expectations. Definitely the best place to have a samurai sword custom made. I will be ordering another soon.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 01/02/2021

By: A. Gordon

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Amazing quality, I'm an avid bushwhacker who lives in the Northwestern part of Canada; as one could imagine I tend to go out with protection. I bought a 1095 carbon steel clay tempered Wakizashi awhile back and have been left astonished with what I received. The blade came sharp as could be, sharpened with Niku intended for heavy cutting. The quality of the blade is beautiful along with the custom engraving I got of my family coat of arms. I'll be definitely buying another as soon as I can!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 01/01/2021

By: Jamie Walsh

View Product Details
Hand Forged Red Folded Steel Tiger Katana Samurai Sword

Review:

I absolutely love my first sword from SoN! I did my research and read all reviews for all sword provider options...and no regrets going with SoN here for my very first sword. I couldn't be happier. Thanks guys!!

Price: $369.99

Date Added: 12/31/2020

By: Craig Byl

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I had a custom Wakizashi made with all of the specs and fittings I wanted. The owner kept in contact with me throughout the whole process, giving me updates along the way. The sword arrived in about 4 weeks and I am extremely satisfied with it. Everything was done exactly the way I wanted. The sword seems to be of high quality and the 1060 folded steel blade is beautiful! It's nice and straight and the Tsuka is wrapped very tightly. I highly recommend Swords of Northshire if you're looking for a well made sword.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 12/29/2020

By: Mike S.

View Product Details
Hand Forged Ninjato 1060 High Carbon Black Steel Blade Full Tang Samurai Ninja Chokuto Sword

Review:

Good sword. Works well, but because of the polish, I wouldn’t recommend any heavy use on it. Other than that it was a great sword, with no warps and excellent craftsmanship.

Price: $169.99

Date Added: 12/27/2020

By: Lucas

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Black Steel Blade Full Tang Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

The sword is very spectacular quality especially when you compare it to the price. Most swords within this price range would be lower quality, however this blade is very nice. It has a perfect mix of edge retention and flexibility. In other words it takes it’s time to dull and if you hit it wrong where as other katanas would bend, it’s able to flex back into place. In terms of looks this katana and it’s saya are absolutely beautiful. SwordsofNorthshire truly makes some outstanding work. Only complaint I have is a very small amount of this glue or resin substance is noticeable around the Kashira or pommel.

Price: $199.99

Date Added: 12/27/2020

By: Ethan Geiger

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Black Ninja Chokuto Japanese Straight Sword

Review:

The scabbard grips a little too tight onto the sword for my liking, rendering it rather difficult to draw, but the sword itself is excellently made. The handle is smooth and comfortable whilst still maintaining a firm structure, the blade is noticeably sturdy and presents decent cutting power even without intense angular momentum, and it swings quite well and gives enough maneuverability to feel natural when swinging it. As a side note to anybody who has yet to wield a real sword, do keep in mind that you can't swing it around effortlessly like a stick. However, once you learn the literal weight of the sword, it's really not that awkward to wield. This sword is great, and if you're interested in Asian style swords, this is definitely one such sword worth considering.

Price: $169.99

Date Added: 12/27/2020

By: Alvis Freeman

View Product Details
Hand Forged Red Folded Steel Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

I ordered 2 , at first I thought I should have bought one and seen what it was like. Now I am extremely happy with my decision ,the swords are flawless! Way better than what I had expected . I'm shopping for more now, for Christmas.

Price: $289.99

Date Added: 12/12/2020

By: Satisfied customer

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Damascus Steel Blade Musashi Samurai Sword Katana

Review:

I ordered this beautiful Damascus katana from Swords of Northshire, The craftsmanship was well beyond my expectations for the price of the sword. The customer service was even better some of the best customer service I’ve ever experienced from any seller. I would highly recommend Swords of Northshire To anyone!!! I will be ordering a fully customize sword soon from them simply put they just rock!!!!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 12/09/2020

By: Rodney P

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

If I waited roughly 7 weeks for this sword and I love it, I think it was worth the wait. The sword is smooth weighted nicely. Absolutely no rattle when shaking it from the handle. My only real regret when I bought this was not choosing a blood grove

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 11/28/2020

By: Jovel

View Product Details
Trafalgar Law One Piece Kikoku Sword Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Nodachi

Review:

The sword itself is amazing the detail I love everything about to be honest and I know I’m the probably the only review here but I love one piece and the characters and I got this sword because I like Law he’s one of my favorite characters in one piece I honestly recommend this sword to anyone who likes Law or one piece in general I know it’s pretty pricey but trust me it’s totally worth it

Price: $349.99

Date Added: 11/27/2020

By: Yahir Gomez

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

After hearing about SoN on the interwebs (mostly youtube) and being impressed with the quality and customizability for the prices, I ordered a custom katana and wakizashi. The crafting process took a little over 2 months before they were shipped, after receiving high quality confirmation pictures (attached underneath). The katana is 1095 clay tempered, while the waki is 9260 spring steel. The natural wood sayas look and feel smooth and aren't too thin. The saya openings do have minor imperfections (small cracks between the wood and koiguchi). The katana has a very nice mirror-ish polish, and a subtle but beautiful hamon that is consistent across the edge and doesn't run off. The niku edge is particularly sharp and has been thoroughly tested, on multiple tough tatami mats with PVC pipes inside. It has held up really well, no damage. With its bo-hi, and light shinogi zukuri blade profile, the sword feels exceptionally nimble and easy to handle. The tsuka feels great as well - tight, solid, with menuki that aren't too big. The fuchi had slightly rough/sharpish edges, I quickly sanded those smooth though. SoN responded well to my feedback on that. Otherwise, the fittings are good. The blade of the katana feels very nice, and even though it has some small flaws and I know that SoN would let me switch it if I didn't like it, I really enjoy its performance and overall look. The wakizashi's spring steel has a little rougher and more matt polish, with small striations in the steel's structure. This blade actually is near perfect - completely straight, with an even taper towards the tip, nice yokote and kissaki. Niku edge on this one too, it wasn't as sharp as I would've wanted however, so I sharpened it up a bit myself. The tsuka is as good as the katana's. Only nitpick is that the fuchi is just a tiny tad loose, but it doesn't move unless its put under some pressure, it meets friction but seemingly just not enough. This blade was also put to the test, before and after sharpening, and it is indeed very solid yet flexible, and durable. Great balance, but could've still been a bit more tip heavy e.g. via a swell in the yokote. Its got a seemingly extra deep sori, which feels pretty good. But this probably also would have benefited from a bit more of the mentioned tip-heaviness. Apart from that, it cuts very well and is a good draw. Lastly, the blade engravings look really good on both swords. Customer service is top-notch, quality is great for the price, and DHL shipping from China to Norway was really fast. All in all, a sweet buying experience and highly recommended vendor, especially for beginners or those on a budget :)

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 11/26/2020

By: Leonard L.

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I love this Katana. The thing that wowed me the most and sold me instantly was the blade. It is absolutely beautiful and perfectly crafted... and despite me opting for the "heavier-cutting" edition (rather than extra sharp), this thing would easily remove a hand. In addition to this the general craftsmanship and overall look and feel of the Katana is amazing. In fact, I love this so much that I'll be opting for a much more expensive clay-tempered version soon. And absolutely amazing job from the blacksmiths at SoN.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 11/26/2020

By: Ryan Haws

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Steel Blade Samurai Sword Maru Katana

Review:

This sword is a beautiful piece for my wall and for doing laido the sword feels great in the hand, the balance of the sword was perfect

Price: $219.99

Date Added: 11/25/2020

By: Thanh ho

View Product Details
Hand Forged Ninjato for Sale | Black Folded Steel Blade Ninja Chokuto Sword with Blow Darts

Review:

This blade is amazing. The attention to detail is impeccable. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about it, it is amazing and by far the best blade in my collection. I love the emailed photos and confirmation.

Price: $264.99

Date Added: 11/25/2020

By: Collado

View Product Details
Messer / Bastard Sword / Katana Hybrid Straight Blade European Folded Steel Blade Longsword

Review:

I ordered this sword with a request for the blade to be 8cm longer. The blade has a smooth edge geometry and no visible secondary bevel, the tip of the blade has a false edge profile, but it is unsharpened. 50-ish hard plastic bottle caps and light branches left no scratches on it, and the edge is as sharp as it came out of the box. In terms of handling and blade quality this is a 10/10 sword! But the entire hilt assembly and sheath were cheap to say the least. The crossguard is clunky ugly and way too soft, with a welded on protrusion. Both the crossguard and hilt were too big for the blade and fitted on with glue/resin, I had to destroy the hilt in order to remove it, making the threaded pommel useless. Crossguard got bent from a rubber mallet during disassembly. The sheath had double-sided tape inside, and left sticky glue on the blade every time I took it out. I fitted my own guard and hilt and remade the handle, and am very happy with what I have now, but if I wasn't capable of making a new hilt, I would have tried to return the sword. Put the same care into sword assembly as you put into blade making, Swords of Northshire. A video of me using the newly assembled sword is on Youtube, titled: Longsword Katana Messer Hybrid

Price: $369.99

Date Added: 11/25/2020

By: Kalevi Krutko

View Product Details
Flute Sword / Spear Hybrid Hand Forged 1095 High Carbon Steel Concealed Musical Instrument

Review:

Was quite impressed with this piece! Very creative idea and solid execution. Looks great, and is great fun too. A hidden gem on the site. Shipped quickly, nice and friendly email correspondance

Price: $419.99

Date Added: 11/20/2020

By: Leonard

View Product Details

    

At Swords of Northshire, we pride ourselves in our quality work. If for any reason you aren't happy with your purchase, we will make it right! We guarantee you'll love your sword or your money back