All Swords of Northshire Reviews

Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Martial Arts Iaito Katana

Review:

Excellent quality craftsmanship and at a great price. Beautiful sword. Will be ordering again :)

Price: $159.99

Date Added: 07/12/2019

By: Michael F

View Product Details
1095 High Carbon Steel Clay Tempered Samurai Sword Daisho Set Katana & Wakizashi

Review:

Beautiful set of swords! My first order is a winner! Could not be happier. Looking forward to add another sword shortly. Great service and product. Well packaged. Even the sword bags are exquisite.

Price: $879.99

Date Added: 07/04/2019

By: John Littau

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I recently purchased a katana from here. I have not had any time to fully try it out yet on some mats but I can say that the sword is very well balanced. I enjoy practicing with it. I also think the customer service is very prompt. they emailed back and forth with me multiple times in order to get everything just right. they replay very fast to questions and are also very nice to talk to over the phone. They even send extra Mekugi for maintenance

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 06/30/2019

By: Enrique Becwar

View Product Details
1095 High Carbon Steel Clay Tempered Shirasaya Samurai Wakizashi Sword

Review:

Wow! Just perfect in all aspect. Its not as sharp as i wanted thats the only (important)thing. And i specified very precisely how sharp i needed the blade to be. Thanks really good service! David from montreal

Price: $364.99

Date Added: 06/26/2019

By: david socha

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I have purchased 8 different swords from Northshire over the past few months including tanto's, katana's, wakizashi's and a nodachi. Because I was able to choose from the full range of metal types and other options available, each sword has it's own unique "personality", and I couldn't be happier with the results. My next purchase in August will be a tamahagane steel katana. Based on the quality of swords I have received so far, I am sure this one will be well-worth the 2-3 month production time and the $3,500 cost. It will be the crown jewel of my collection!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 06/18/2019

By: Dave B

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

This is a great sword. It cuts perfectly through meat, water bottles, and tatami mats. The shipping was quick and none of the sword or it’s stand were damaged. The Ito is tight and all of the parts are secured well. However, it is a little hard to take off and put on the tsuba.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 06/18/2019

By: Nurik Kiinov

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Excellent custom Nodachi! Great price for a custom 9260, which I've found as an option nowhere else in custom blades. Very good customer service, very fast at replies!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 06/17/2019

By: Justin

View Product Details
Unokubi Zukuri White Chokuto Sword

Review:

This is a great sword to add to your collection. It is a beautiful display piece as well as a fully functional sword. It shipped encased inside a Styrofoam package wrapped in a lot of packing tape. It felt like I was cracking open a fresh egg with a prize inside. It came with a sword certificate and a sword bag. The handle was sealed in plastic. I could tell that great care went into the shipping process. It arrived sooner than expected. The blade had a heavy coat of oil on it. Everything about this sword and my experience with this company has been outstanding. If you are looking for a sword company with experience then I would recommend this one.

Price: $319.99

Date Added: 06/16/2019

By: Shadow

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Swords of Northshire are a great company, they are kind, genuine and seek to provide service in anyway they can. The custom made katana is a great first sword, it is heavily customisable and affordable. The blade is beautifully crafted, as well as, the other individual customisable parts. My only gripe with the sword if I could find any, is the moulds being used clearly show age, when looking at all the cast parts, especially of the are heavily patterned. This is not a fault of swords of Northshire though, as the seek to find the best pieces from different sources to craft your desired sword.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 06/13/2019

By: Max

View Product Details
Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Blades Sword

Review:

Just awesome! Awesome website, and awesome service from the people of Swords of Northshire. Very pleased with my product and very pleased with the service provided. I’ve never shopped for a sword before, but I definitely will after this experience with you guys. Keep up the great work!

Price: $149.99

Date Added: 06/13/2019

By: Sarkis Krikor

View Product Details
Clay Tempered Full Tang 1095 High Carbon Steel Huali Shirasaya Samurai Tanto Sword

Review:

I'll start off by saying that the tanto is gorgeous and well-crafted--love the hamon (edge pattern) and color/weight of the wood used. I look forward to cutting with it during my next tameshigiri event. The downside of this shirasaya (no tsuba) style, since it's straight, is that you're not quite sure how the blade will be positioned when you draw it. I will have to mark which side the edge faces in order to easily identify it. Another thing to note, is that the blade isn't very balanced and doesn't feel like it's full tang (maybe half-way down the tsuka). When you hold the tanto, you'll notice how blade is much heavier compared to the tsuka portion. And when you swing, you may feel like the tanto will slip from your hand if you're not careful while gripping it overtly tight. The mekugi (pin) also sticks out on both sides. Though it's rounded, it's still uncomfortable to hold/use because it's not flush. As a display piece, it's wonderful to look at and showcase. As a functional cutting blade, I'll have to be more cautious than with other blades that have a wrapping or a contoured tsuka. I will most also likely have to adjust the tsuka/mekugi to make it more comfortable for cutting.

Price: $326.99

Date Added: 06/13/2019

By: Ryan Mann

View Product Details
1095 High Carbon Steel Clay Tempered Katana with Hand Carved Saya

Review:

The katana I received is a true masterpiece. It's beautiful and its blade is very durable so all I can do is recommend Swords of Northshire.

Price: $469.99

Date Added: 06/11/2019

By: Xymena Smater

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Steel Straight Blade Katana Ninjato Wave Chokuto Sword

Review:

Absolutely in love with the sword. Fine craftsmanship, attention to detail, timely delivery, and even the packaging ensured the safety of the sword during it’s long trip to my home. I’ve already recommended my friends to swords of northshire, and I know I’ll purchase from you all in the future!

Price: $229.99

Date Added: 06/08/2019

By: Jalin E.

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Swordsofnorthshire did a great job on the katana I ordered. They were extremely helpful, and the customer service was excellent. I requested two blade shape modifications, an unokubi zukuri blade with a shobu zukuri style point. They did both, FOR FREE!. The sword I received is very high quality, the leather ito is tight, the fit and finish of the sword is very good, and it handles really well. The one negative was that the kissaki was a bit dull. I will definitely be buying from them again, and I recommend Swordsofnorthshire wholeheartedly!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 06/07/2019

By: Frank

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Thank you for the amazing service. The sword is beautiful and I love it

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 06/07/2019

By: Samuel V

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

For the longest time, I have wanted a katana. I love the history and culture of Japan, and nothing encapsulates it better than the weapon of the Samurai. This was my first purchase from Swords of Northshire. I ordered a 1095 steel katana as seen below. I'm not exaggerating at all, the photos aren't nearly as beautiful as it is in real life. The craftsmanship is breathtaking. I don't claim to know anything about sword making, but I can tell when thought and passion was put into the production of something. This sword is a work of art. It isn't flashy and over-decorated like the cheap blades you can get elsewhere. In a sense, its simplicity shows the confidence the sword smiths have in their abilities. But this sword is far from being delicate. It is built tough, fully functional and balanced. If any of the sword smiths are reading this, your work is fantastic! Also my thanks to Bryce in customer service. Best customer service I have received at any store. Finally, to any of you reading these comments on the fence with purchasing a sword, I can assure you this is the real deal. I will definitely come back for another in the future!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/24/2019

By: Joseph Yellico

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I must say that I am very impressed with the quality of the sword. I was a little skeptical in the beginning to be honest about ordering a sword online where you are not even sure the quality and the service, but my overall experience with SoN has been amazing. The sword custom made 1095 Katana is my first one and I am in love with it. The customer service is very quick to respond and is a very friendly staff. I will definitely order more in near future.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/24/2019

By: Raman Thakur

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Worth The Wait! I am writing this review just shortly after receiving a custom Katana from Swords of Northshire. I ordered this sword from the Custom Parts Catalogue, which resulted in a truly one of a kind sword. After placing the order in mid January, I had expectations of delivery after about 8 weeks. Bryce Ronquille the owner of Swords of Northshire, was in contact as often as I needed during the entire process. The sword did get delayed for various reasons along the way, however I always had the impression that I was in good hands and that in the end, the wait would be worth it. Well! This is one of those things that pans out well for those who exhibit patience. I am sure that the turn around for off the shelf, or even customized off the self swords would be quicker; however this baby is "Worth The Wait". I cannot state more clearly how beautiful this Katana is. If you are interested in a special heirloom quality Samurai Sword, please take my advice: Buy your sword from Bryce at Swords of Northshire... I can definitely endorse these products as, living up to expectation, being a work of art, and certainly the experience was enhanced by Bryce Ronquille's expertise and professionalism.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/22/2019

By: Allan Dawson

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I ordered the basic 1060 Katana (un-sharpened for practice) with bo-hi, including a straight etched hamon, with my selection of components from those offered on the web site. I have used the blade for five months and here is my initial and current opinion. My first impression with sword in hand: For a price point under $180 this is very nice. Also remember this is a production sword. I will use non Japanese terms. Over all appearance very nice. Blade curve (high curve rate) and handle curve and shape have a nice clean look. Balance tends to be slighlty handle heavy but works fine for my purpose of live blade weight for training. Fittings are tight and there is no rattle of components and blade. Production sword and production scabbard means some rattle. Scabbard is thick in diameter (looks fat) and the fitting to tie the chord is too far from the scabbard opening for a common hand reference used to sheath the sword. The wrap on the handle (silk) is very tight and the diamonds are fairly well shaped and consistent. Remember this is a under two hundred dollar sword and not a five hundred dollar handle. After five months the wrap has loosed as expected and still remains nicely tight for practical use. I did add superglue to the knots at the end of the handle to prevent them from coming undone. Note: they did not come loose, but due to the high use I give this sword - I did not want them to come loose. The wrap is correctly done and the decorative ornaments under wrap are on the correct sides of the handle. The finishing knots for the handle wrap are also on the correct side of the handle. I have taken the sword apart for cleaning and lubrication for sheathing and rust protection. I did need to make some very minor filing adjustments to the surface on the blade under the handle and hand guard and blade collar to allow for easy unrestricted disassembly and assembly. It now will come apart with hand pressure and no hammering or pounding. I did add a shim and glue repair to the scabbard to re-tighten the opening. The components seem to be cast brass. The darker color wash or stain is waring off and the fittings are becoming shiny. This does not bother me and could be easily hand re finished if needed. I honestly do not have a negative comment outside of the scabbard and chord mount being to far down for hand reference to allow for consistent re-sheathing of the blade. This could be addressed in production. The blade can be sharpened if one has the sharpening stones that are appropriate for the task. Also note this is heavier blade than a Japanese Iaido blade made of lighter alloy metals that can not be sharpened . This is a battle sword used for strength, wringing out the grip of the handle, and accuracy in battle training, and sheathing a 28 inch steel razor blade properly. You can expect responsive communications form Mr. Bryce Ronquille. You also have a more expansive catalogue that offers additional options not indicated on the website. You only need to request it and it will be sent by e-mail. Now the truth to the evaluation and review. I am now in the process of ordering matching Katana, Wakizashi, Tanto in 9260 spring steel all will be razor sharp live Blades. My summary opinion is: for the ability to choose the components and materials, choose the type metal for the blade, thus controlling my final cost, you won't find a better place to order your production sword at this writing. You are sent pictures of the sword in production and can decide if it looks acceptable before they finish it. Where else can you do that. Again for the price point I could not find any where else close to this. Nice job Swords of Northshire.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/21/2019

By: Dave Dahlman

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Just great, the gift was very well made, shipped fast and cleanly, people responsive and accommodating. Truely great experience. I can't think of any point of dissatisfaction.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 05/19/2019

By: Romain

View Product Details

    

At Swords of Northshire, we pride ourselves in our quality work. If for any reason you aren't happy with your purchase, we will make it right! We guarantee you'll love your sword or your money back