All Swords of Northshire Reviews

Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

This has been the best sword I've ever had. Everything was tight and handled great. The blade didnt dull even after I accidentally hit a wooden railing. The negative I have is the saya was a little bit too tight but after more use I'm sure itll be fine

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/18/2019

By: Steven Ven

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

As an admitted non-expert in Katanas and beginner in Iaido, I find this katana to be beautiful (it is a practice blade.) It is a work of art even if I never use it! The whole experience of building your own Katana and interacting with staff was an example of excellent customer service. The fact that they provide the service of making your own is a gift. The process makes you think about who you are and what does each piece mean to you. The Katana is an extension of you. You learn about each piece of the sword as you go through the building process. It took me weeks before I was comfortable with the combinations. Even after ordering it, I needed to make one change; they were very accommodating. I look forward to the day when I am experienced enough to get my next one with a live blade; I’ll be back here.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/17/2019

By: Laura

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

1095 folded, clay tempered katana pros: appearance, quality, feel/balance, price, does not rattle in saya cons: blade sharpness is not consistent from yokote to hamachi. overall: Still give it 5 stars. I plan to buy another one or two..

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/04/2019

By: Timothy

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Fantastic sword, delivered quickly and professionally, exactly as I ordered it. Such a beautiful blade, and it feels nice and well-balanced in hand as well. I can't wait to try it out on some tatami mats! Thanks to the smiths and also thanks to Bryce for the top notch customer service! Cheers!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/02/2019

By: Julien Renaud

View Product Details
Hand Forged Ninjato Black Folded Steel Blade Ninja Chokuto Sword with Blow Darts

Review:

Beautiful Sword! Excellent Customer Service with good communication and photos. Worth every penny!

Price: $264.99

Date Added: 09/02/2019

By: Jenta

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I can't believe what these guys did for me. I made blades back in the day, so I know more than a thing or two. 1.Customer Service is best I ever got 2.They have more options and will work with you to get the perfect blade for you 3. I asked for a katana with a 41ish nagasa, and a 12 inch handle. I have NO idea how this huge beast has such good balance, but it's on another level! 4. The packaging is over the top awesome. This thing could float at sea and probably be fine in 1k years! 5. I can't even explain how good it looks in person. I'll probably take some white to the wheel and sharpen it a little, get a TEENY bit more shine. But it is a definite mirror polish. I just personally take blades sharper(Maybe oversharp, but since I can fix in shop after every use, it's never been an issue) With a 41 inch nagasa I can't IMAGINE they were pleased to polish and sharpen it, so I don't hold the dulling against them. It didn't do tell with the paper test, but after I make my part 2 video(I'm injured or else it would be done), I will show you what a true Swords of Northshire is capable of! The Ito is SO tight I can't move it, NO wobbles, doesn't fall out of sheath at ALL. Very tight! If somebody asked this of me, I would of charged them 2k probably. For real. This is a good deal, I was co-owner of Spokane Forge! I know a nice blade when I see one! The fittings are all secured. The only thing I have yet to do is a cut test, which I plan on doing in a few days! For part one of the unboxing, check it out here! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=74e21Nq-vOU&t

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 09/01/2019

By: Stephen Leroy Layton

View Product Details
Hand Forged Folded Steel Blade Samurai Sword Golden Crane Katana

Review:

The katana is of great quality overall and I like it very much. The blade has pretty patterns of folded steel and upon close inspection there is no scratches. The katana is well balanced as described, with the center of mass being 5 inches on the blade from the guard. I use the sword to practice Iaido for half an hour every day. There was not cutting objects involved. While I can't say much about the durability of the blade, the handle wrapping certainly holds up and is still tight as new. There are a few places for improvement. The very tip of the blade seems a tiny bit unsymmetrical along the ridge of the backside of the blade (see the red circle in the first image). The scabbard is a little loose. Sometimes when carrying the sword with the handle tilting slightly downward can cause the sword to slide out. Lastly, the guard is a little sloppy. It is understood that at this price range, certain limitations on the quality cannot be avoided. But on the guard where it was supposed to be hollow was molded together, which undermined the "crane flying in the clouds" pattern. It only took me two minutes to knock out the redundant part and make it right (see the second image that shows the smaller hollow part that was originally molded together). A little care on the guard would make this katana more exquisite.

Price: $219.99

Date Added: 08/31/2019

By: Yue

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Bat Tsuba Martial Arts Iaito Katana

Review:

This is the second sword I've ordered here and it won't be the last. Great quality, especially for the price and it has served me well in my martial arts training and competitions

Price: $169.99

Date Added: 08/31/2019

By: Connor

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

All I can say is wow!!! I own 23 katanas, and my Northshire custom katana instantly became my favorite!! From the look of the sword to how it feels in my hand, its everything I hoped for!!! They were so receptive to what I wanted, and believe me I sent many many emails.. They were always polite, and always responded very quickly!! The customer service was exceptional!!! Back to the sword itself. Its beautiful, and perfectly balanced!! It feels so connected to my hand!! The balance is so good it feels almost like I'm holding nothing in my hand, but in actual weight it's right in the middle of all the swords I own.. I own swords from all the well known major companies, and this sword hands down beats them all!!!! I have already ordered another, and will order more in the future!!! I obviously definitely recommend to any true katana lover to give them a try!!!! You wont regret it!!!!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/31/2019

By: Jack Cantrel

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

The sword I recently purchased is fantastic. I ordered the custom made katana. It came out just as pictured during the ordering process. It is beautiful, sharp, and well put together. The customer service was quick to respond to any questions I had along the way. It was well-packaged for delivery as well. I look forward to buying something else from Northshire!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/31/2019

By: Steve

View Product Details
Flute Sword / Spear Hybrid Hand Forged 1095 High Carbon Steel Concealed Musical Instrument

Review:

Beautiful sword, and came fast with great communication

Price: $419.99

Date Added: 08/30/2019

By: Kal

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Full Tang Oil Quenched Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

This was a beautiful sword. I purchased it for my nephew as a gift for getting his Masters. We were more than happy with how well made this sword was. Customer service are so quick with replies as well. Will be purchasing from Northshire again in the future. Thank you!

Price: $139.99

Date Added: 08/29/2019

By: Catherine Walters

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I ordered the custom 1095 folded clay tempered Katana with custom Saya and fittings. It's a work of art i'm very happy. Great customer service. Order arrived in 5 days .

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/26/2019

By: Andrew

View Product Details
Clay Tempered Full Tang 1095 High Carbon Steel Huali Shirasaya Samurai Tanto Sword

Review:

What a quality blade this is (and everything else) I finally got a chance to disassemble it! Previous reviews have done justice to the quality. From what I've researched, this setup was used to store a blade when not in use and was not meant to be used in a fight. When called into service, it would be removed and re-installed into a "standard" katana setup; the more ornate kit you'd expect. Knowing that, it's really awesome sitting next to my "battle" tanto cause it shows both states. I've been imagining an armory full of this type of storage system. Look up shirasaya for pole arms, swords and other weapons. It's enlightening!

Price: $326.99

Date Added: 08/22/2019

By: Tim

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

1st of all I wanted to give a big thanks to Bryce for making the sword happen. I changed my mind on a few things after ordering, and then my daughter wanted ALOT changed. Bryce kept in contact through and through and the changes were actually made about 1 week after the order was placed. The shipping was actually quite fast and the sword is put together very well. Everything is tight and the blade is perfect. It was packaged really well and already choji oiled up when I received it. I looked upon a lot of sites and i am def glad I chose this one. I will be purchasing more from Bryce and his site in the future, and would easily and def recommend to anybody looking for a katana or anything else on this site. Great customer service, great katana, thank you so much Bryce. We will talk again in the near future without a doubt.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/21/2019

By: Pete

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

I discovered swords of Northshire a few months ago, when I found out I could customize my own sword I had to try this out. Previously my experience with other sword vendors were a farce, and to be honest I had low expectations with swords of Northshire. However, when I was designing my sword whatever questions I had, Bryce would respond within the hour. When Bryce emailed pictures of my finished product it came back exactly the way I wanted it. When it arrived All of the fittings where solidly put together, the handle cord was tight and the blade arrived very sharp. All together, i humbly admit I was proven wrong the customer service was phenomenal and they truly made a fantastic sword. I plan to order more swords from swords of Northshire in the future. If you are looking for a sword company that stands behind their products and goes above and beyond for their customers Swords of Northshire is for you.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/17/2019

By: Zach. S

View Product Details
Crane Sword Folded Damascus Steel Blade Kung Fu Chinese Martial Arts Wushu Tai Chi Jian

Review:

So, this thing is great. They had it built fairly quickly (~2 weeks) and the rest of the time was simply shipping overseas. It came very securely packaged in a fair amount of Styrofoam, wrapped in plastic, and with a carrying bag. One thing I definitely appreciate is they sent me pictures for my approval before shipping, something most other sword companies would never consider doing. Overall, the detail is utterly amazing. The level of detail on the guard, pommel, and even the scabbard is truly impressive. The blade is wicked sharp. I didn't ask for any customization options, so they put some dots on it in the shape of the Big Dipper, which is a nice touch. It certainly has a heft to it, but doesn't feel awkward in the hand. It is definitely a two-hander. The weight feels really nice. The only complaint I really have is I can feel a little bit of wobble in the handle; I'm guessing the handle might be a little more on the hollow side, and the tang can move around inside a little. I was a little worried to swing something so expensive, but it holds up fine. Not sure I would do any abusive testing, though. Overall, it's a beautiful sword. If you want a big Jian, this is definitely a good option.

Price: $459.99

Date Added: 08/15/2019

By: Chris

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

had a wakizashi made by swords of northshire, I am very impressed with how fast it all came together, and got it 2 weeks after I placed order and I live in australia. very happy with the quality of blade and construction. will buy another one soon. thanks very much

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/06/2019

By: sean brazel

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Orderd a custom katana with my own mesurements: Blade 30" , Tsuka 14" , Sori 0,8" , no bohi , and rayskinwraped saya . I must say that I´m realy happy with my sword. All measurements were as I wanted , except for sori , wich was a little bit bigger ( 0,9" ) , and that is next to nothing in my book. The sword feels god in my hand and was lighter than I expected ( 1.26 kg ) All in all, I´m impressed with the sword and would absolutely recommend Swords of Northshire

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 08/04/2019

By: Pehr Nord

View Product Details
Protective Display Case for Japanese Samurai Swords, Katana and Wakizashi

Review:

I ordered the case JH-03, again. Same situation. As I said, the sword case is made of soft wood and is fragile. But the sword inside, did not suffer any damage.

Price: $74.99

Date Added: 07/31/2019

By: Aurel Popescu

View Product Details

    

At Swords of Northshire, we pride ourselves in our quality work. If for any reason you aren't happy with your purchase, we will make it right! We guarantee you'll love your sword or your money back