All Swords of Northshire Reviews

Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

This was the first custom sword that I have ever had built for me, and I have to say that Swords of Northshire lived up to their reputation. The geometry, fittings, and the balance of the blade are all exceptional. The sword is also light, fast, razor sharp, and easy to wield despite the excessive blade length that I asked for. My only complaint would have to be the hamon line, or, clay temper line on the edge of the blade. I had asked for a specific hamon pattern on this sword when I ordered it, but got something else instead. Also, the hamon is very subtle, and just barely visible under certain lighting. Other than that, the sword is excellent, and I plan to use Swords of Northshire again in the future for another custom build.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 02/08/2020

By: S. Wright

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Skyrim Blades Sword Dragon & Snake Martial Arts Iaito Katana

Review:

It was a gift and the quality is a great deal considering the price point. They kept me informed about the process and the finished product was everything they said it was.

Price: $129.99

Date Added: 02/07/2020

By: Dylan Walker

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Steel Blade Full Tang Hawk Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

This is my first katana and I'm blown Away with the craftsmanship I highly recommend this to anyone starting out in the katana world

Price: $129.99

Date Added: 02/07/2020

By: crystal

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Am happy with it. Wanted something simple, durable, and highly functional. That's what I got. Although, my dumb butt already got cut playing around with it haha. 10/10

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 01/31/2020

By: Samuel Santiago

View Product Details
Hard Wood Saya Scabbard for Japanese Samurai Swords Katana, Wakizashi, & Tanto

Review:

Received saya s-135 with my second custom sword. It was a well made saya. however, if I compare it to the saya I received from my first sword; this one was not as tight at the Habaki. Not exactly a deal breaker for me other than that I was happy with this product. I plan to order more with future swords.

Price: $0.00

Date Added: 01/31/2020

By: Zach s

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

My second sword from SON, and it’s just as fantastic as my first one. Fitting where tight and my niku sharp blade was sharp enough to cut through one gallon jugs with a single swipe. This will not be my last sword from SON. *buyer tip go with the niku sharp blade option, you can cut heavy and soft targets with it.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 01/31/2020

By: Zach s

View Product Details
WW2 Type 98 Shin Gunto Japanese Officer Samurai Sword Clay Tempered 1095 Steel Katana

Review:

It has been 2 months since I have received my military sword (shin gunto) of this model, and I am still without words regarding the craftsmanship and beauty. This has been an investment that I truly do not regret making. There is a wonderful feel to handling the Gunto and the smell of leather covering the saya, adds a plus. It has generated a strong emotional attachment that I look at with pride. In symbolic terms, it is to me the symbol of status. A sword of command at the field of battle and of self defense. This is by far the best type 98 shin gunto model that i have purchased, that I look forward to purchasing the second gunto model to add to my collection. Thank you for crafting my sword

Price: $839.99

Date Added: 01/30/2020

By: Steven G.

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Well worth the money for a custom sword, excellent customer support and contact. Adding specific things such as custom lengths full samegawa wrap to the handle. I wasn't sure about ordering a custom sword online and all at first, but I went for it and Swords of Northshire delivered more than well. I got my custom made Nodachi exactly as I wanted it. Two very worth mentioning things are: 1.)Saya and sword fits great, and hold the sword safely without being too tight or too loose. 2.)The handle is not bulky/blocky which sometimes unfortunately is a fact with some mass produced modern katanas from certain retailers. Thank you Swords of Northshire for your customer support and for making a sword I have wanted for a long time.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 01/03/2020

By: Simon

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Really beautiful work, with great balance and feel. Custom was the only way to find a 31" blade, and this is everything I had hoped for.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 12/29/2019

By: Chad

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

1095 folded and clay tempered katana: dangerously sharp. For context, i disassemble the blade for maintenance regularly because of the conditions it’s subjected to. While i had it apart one time, i left the blade out in the open while i took a picture of the tsuba i had on it. When i went to go put it back together, my middle toe caught the edge of the blade and sliced off the skin down to the lowest parts with minimal effort, and due to damage inflicted almost had to go to urgent care. That being said, these blades are higher end than many competitors, which is the price you pay. Now while not as coveted or aesthetically pleasing as the more prominent polish jobs for the hamon on a tamahagane blade, this blade in particular holds a strength and usability on par with some more modern super steel blades. I got mine with a bo-hi so i can align the edge with my plane of swing for best results, which incidentally has also sliced some softwood furniture and created a new edge not unlike a planing device in woodworking. This blade was made with more attention given to it, and i say that because it feels like a living steel. None of my other swords display this property, so i suspect they put way more effort and attention to these swords than some others might.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 12/28/2019

By: Eric Brennan

View Product Details
Hand Forged Clay Tempered 1095 High Carbon Steel Tang Dao Chokuto Ninja Sword

Review:

I ordered mine with the following options: -Hand Sharpened -White Same'gawa (Ray skin under wrap) -Black Leather Ito (Hand Wrap) -Smith's Name on Tang (Under handle) This blade is flawless. The edge is fantastic and the hamon line is easily distinguishable. Mine came without a single scratch on it. It's slightly wider at the base than the tip but it's difficult to see that through pictures. There is one thing you should be aware of before purchasing this blade. The sheath fits loosely on this blade on purpose! That's why there is a black cover that locks the blade in place by the hand guard. It slides out with just gravity when it's unbuttoned, and that is by design. This is the 2nd blade I have purchased from Swords of Northshire, and both of these blades are the crown jewels of my entire collection. The company is authentic and the swords they make are very real. They will send you photos of your blade for your approval before they even ship it out to you. Lastly, if you are considering purchasing these as gifts for someone, please note that these weapons are real high carbon steel and they will rust without proper care! Please do the research on how to care for a real sword (personally I tend to recommend 91% isopropyl alcohol, flour if needed, 3 in 1 oil, and microfiber cloths for routine maintenance). I will be purchasing more from this company in the future (like that flute sword/spear!).

Price: $364.99

Date Added: 12/28/2019

By: Dustin

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Amazing customer service. Before shipping my order they emailed me photos of the sword to make sure everything was to my specifications, which is was. However, after viewing the photos, I realized one of the customization which I requested did not look how I imagined it would. Even though it was done EXACTLY as I requested. I asked the rep if it would be possible to change the customization to something different, and offered to pay for the change (keep in mind this was a CHANGE to a customization that I requested). The rep made the change without any issue and didn’t even charge me anything extra! My sword then shipped and arrived in perfect condition. Swords of Northshire are unquestionably the best in this price range, and I have seen companies charge much more for much lower quality items.

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 12/20/2019

By: Jonathan M.

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1095 High Carbon Steel Clay Tempered Chorui Samurai Katana Sword

Review:

I really love this sword. It's been some time since I've practiced iaido but I've never lost interest in the Japanese style swords. I'm no pro when it comes to judging swords but the Chorui style katana I bought looks wonderful and is definitely sharp. I can't wait until warmer weather so that I can try some tatami mat cutting. I also really appreciate the professionalism I've experienced during the order process. I spent some time looking around at different retailers before deciding to purchase from Swords Of Northshire and I'm glad I did. I was pleasantly surprised when I received pictures of my katana asking for confirmation before shipping.

Price: $389.99

Date Added: 12/20/2019

By: James Fisher

View Product Details
Hand Forged 1060 High Carbon Skyrim Blades Sword Dragon & Snake Martial Arts Iaito Katana

Review:

Ordered this for my grandson, it's going to be a Christmas gift. I will not order from any where else when it comes to swords. Customer service, shipping, ordering, quality, price is all top notch.

Price: $129.99

Date Added: 12/20/2019

By: Angelo

View Product Details
1095 High Carbon Steel Blade Nagimaki Samurai Naginata Katana Nagamaki Sword

Review:

This is my second purchase from SoN and both products are my favorite swords I own. Stunning craftsmanship and beautiful attention to detail. The Nagamaki is beautifully balanced and came razor sharp. The sword practically feels like an extension of your arm. Stunning piece of weaponry.

Price: $463.99

Date Added: 12/20/2019

By: Alec Dobrenick

View Product Details
1095 High Carbon Steel Clay Tempered Samurai Sword Ketsueki Tsume Katana

Review:

I received my Katana 12/19/2019. Merry Christmas to me. It is a very beautiful piece. I elected the dark brown ITO with white ray skin. All was tight and put together well. I also upgraded the Saya to the black and white partial ray skin wrap piece. The Katana arrived well protected in the packaging. I took it to class that night and enjoyed every draw and movement. There is nothing like wielding a real quality weapon. I will be a return customer for S.O.N. The customer service throughout the entire process was excellent. Thank you Bryce. I have and will continue to refer you and your company to friends and family.

Price: $339.99

Date Added: 12/20/2019

By: Bart Norville

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

The custom sword I ordered has been a real pleasure for practice and training. The slightly shorter (and lighter) blade length is perfect for me to practice draw cuts, single-handed cuts, combination cuts, and still works well in two-handed power cutting techniques (with stacks of 3 tatami omote). The attention to detail and customer service from Bryce has been nothing short of outstanding. I've already recommended this company and its products to my friends and plan on putting in another order before the end of the 2019!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 12/12/2019

By: Mike Wong

View Product Details
Walking Stick Cane Sword Folded Damascus Steel Blade Lock Mechanism Hiking Trekking Jian

Review:

Just received my walking stick and I am truly amazed how beautiful this is. From ordering it to receiving it, Swords of Northshire has become my favorite place for my addiction to swords. Only thing is I am 5 ft 8inches tall and I should of ordered a a little shorter in length but I love it none the less. I ordered this particular one to keep in my car but I plan on purchasing another one soon. Thank you to every one at Swords of NorthShire

Price: $419.99

Date Added: 12/12/2019

By: Jason C

View Product Details
Longclaw Sword | Jon Snow’s Game of Thrones Sword

Review:

I have bought numerous swords from Swords Of Northshire.. all of them masterful works of functional and stunning art... My wife purchased this Longclaw sword for me as a gift. And I must say that it is exquisite, wieldable, sharp, and above any expectations a swordsman could have! I own the licensed versions of longclaw (which are decorative only) and this masterpiece from S.O.N. shows the real world functional/dangerous, beauty that attracts the heart of fantasy and historical buffs alike.. Hold this version of LongClaw in your hands and you hear the cries "The KING in the North". cant recommend this weapon, or any other that comes from Swords Of Northshire enough.

Price: $619.99

Date Added: 12/07/2019

By: Corey

View Product Details
Custom-Made Hand Forged Samurai Sword Japanese Katana

Review:

Excellently made swords for a very affordable price. The quality of the blade and the fittings are amazing. Excellent customer service as well! The staff makes sure you are pleased with the product. Very helpful! I plan to order from northshire again, thank you!

Price: $189.99

Date Added: 11/29/2019

By: Christian S

View Product Details

    

At Swords of Northshire, we pride ourselves in our quality work. If for any reason you aren't happy with your purchase, we will make it right! We guarantee you'll love your sword or your money back